Customer reviews for neutrogena.com Shine Control Liquid Makeup

neutrogena.com Shine Control Liquid Makeup

Neutrogena® Shine Control Makeup helps provide 8 hour shine control in a lightweight, breathable formula. Shine Control Makeup blends perfectly for natural-looking coverage with a soft, matte finish. Broad-spectrum SPF 20 helps protect against sun damage. Works perfectly with Neutrogena® Shine Control Primer & Shine Control Powder. 8 hour shine control Lightweight, breathable formula Won't over dry skin Broad spectrum SPF 20
Overall rating:
3.424 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(92 reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary 92 reviews
5 stars
35
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
12
1 star
20
54 out of 8762%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Shine Control Liquid Makeup
Review 1 for Shine Control Liquid Makeup

Really comfortable! YEAH!

PostedJul 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Pembroke Pines, FL
Age:35-49
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I was so happy that the color matched my skin. I am pretty fair, green/gray eyes, blond hair and have more of a yellow under tone-- I got shade Nude 40. It's hard to get a foundation that's jut right- foundation is always too light or too dark. The coverage is nice. I've applied with my finger and I've used a foundation brush - each time getting a great look with good coverage. My skin is not very oily it's more combination and a lot of the times actually feels dry and sensitive however, even though I'm not that oily this foundation does not feel overly drying on my skin and to my biggest joy is comfortable even though it has spf 20 which is very important for me because I live in S.FL and need good sunscreen in my makeup because I have had some sun cancers. It's not easy to get that high of spf with the make up also being comfortable. One thing I'm noticing is that for me so far it has made my skin look dewy not matt "wierd" I know because it's suppose to be a matt looking foundation. It could be the moisturizer I am using under it although today I used much less moisturizer. I do want to say that a comment was made from Melll that it had small grains in it. Well, I noticed that same thing when I put it on this morning! It felt like it had a little sand in it...what is that??! I thought it was just me or a reaction with my moisturizer until I read that it also happened to her. HUM...still like the makeup though!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shine Control Liquid Makeup

Love the product

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Cheyenne, WY
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?6
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Skin Tone:Fair
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I really just have a question. Does this makeup have any carcinogens or nasty ingredients in it? I usually use mineral makeup, but I really like Neutrogena makeup and thought I would give it a try. I figure since Neutrogena makes great lotions and washes, they don't really need to use too harmful of ingredients. But I like to know what is in my favorite products!
It makes my skin look flawless and lasts all day. I don't really have too oily of skin and can still look good in it. It doesn't go on overly thick, which I really like, and it doesn't look blotchy. Blends very well. And, my favorite part, it conceals really well and doesn't make me break out or dry out my skin. I have been using it with the Healthy Skin primer because I am out of the rice protein primer and it's so popular, I can never find it in stock when I go to the store. And I just need to use it up. But it works well with it! I always have to go to the lightest shade possible because I live where it snows over 80% of the year and don't tan well. This shade didn't have a lot of pink undertones in it, as I have a very fair yellow undertones skin color. Matches really well, and doesn't wash me out. It almost reminded me of a mousse foundation, but covered a lot more thinly. I don't find it overly gritty at all. Overall excellent product.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shine Control Liquid Makeup

holy acne!

PostedJun 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from wisco
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Skin Tone:Light
Quality 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Bought this stuff yesterday, put it on mid afternoon and by yesterday evening my face was a complete grease slick and I had new acne all over my face. I have pretty clear skin and this stuff amazed me at how quick these pimples formed on my face. Four hours was all the time this foundation needed to completely jack up my face. The oil control part of this foundation is the main reason why I picked it up.. it did nothing to control the oil on my face, if anything I was surprised at how super dewy it made my skin look after applying it. Thought it would just need to meld with my skin for a bit but no luck, the shine just got worse and worse throughout the night (even through multiple blotting papers and powdering often)! I wouldn't recommend this for someone with oily skin by any means. It's thick (hard to get product out of the bottle kind of thick!) it's definitely comedogenic, and it doesn't do what the label states, the exact opposite actually. This stuff is going back to the store tomorrow.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shine Control Liquid Makeup

Yes a true little miracle!!!!

PostedNov 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Ross,OH
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I really like this foundation, it's super smooth, blends easily and looks very natural. It doesn't cover my acne scarring but a little concealer can fix that! I wish I had found this product a lot sooner, I just spent $30 on a high end foundation that claimed to be kind to my sensitive skin and tough on my acne prone skin, and it disappointed me greatly it showed every pore I have and made my face itch like crazy!!! Thank you Neutrogena for delivering a product that does what it says it's going to do and that works well, and for doing it all at a fairly affordable price. Folks please don't waste your time or money at the department store make up counter, you have the best stuff RIGHT HERE!!!! :) And the only reason it got 4 stars instead of 5 is because it didn't cover a few of my acne scars, other than that I give 5 stars for everything else!!!! P.S. works great with the primer :)
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shine Control Liquid Makeup

Terrible Texture

PostedApr 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Northern California
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?1
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Normal
Skin Tone:Light
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
So I got all excited seeing Hayden on the commercial and thought I'd switch from my usual Revlon Colorstay foundation and give it a try.
My skin is normal/oily with large pores and VERY acne prone. Like, extremely acne prone thank you genetics.
Anyway for starters the texture of this stuff is just awful. It's like little beads of sand are in the bottle! Rubbing it in didn't make it any better. I swear up close you can see the little grit on your face. It made my skin look dried up but not pleasantly. Due to the texture, I noticed it on my face all day. Shine came through halfway through the day.
I wont be purchasing this product again. I want a non-comedogenic foundation and hopefully I'll find better luck with Neutrogena's healthy skin foundation.
In short, save your money because this foundation is truly awful.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shine Control Liquid Makeup

This foundation is great

PostedMar 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Salisbury, MD
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily
Skin Tone:Fair
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Every foundation I've used has been so oily and after about 3 hours of wearing it, my face would be ridiculously shiny, even with powder. I work at a pizza place too, so as you could imagine, that doesn't help anything. It's very hard to find a foundation that has a shade light enough for me, helps control oil, and provides good coverage. This does all the things I need it to do. It's a little grainy, but not to the point where it's a problem. It doesn't spread very well, and it smells a little odd at first. But those are only minor things, overall this is probably the best foundation I've ever used. The only thing I don't like about it is the price. $12 seems like too much to pay for foundation. Not good for a college kid's wallet.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shine Control Liquid Makeup

Good coverage, matte finish

PostedMar 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from DC
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?2
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
This is one of the best matte makeups I've used in terms of coverage - it's full coverage but allows your skin to breathe and doesn't look like a thick mask. However, the grittiness is almost unbearable. I only use it when I really need long-lasting oil free coverage. I actually called Neutrogena a few weeks ago to ask whether I'd gotten a defective bottle (because it feels like a scrub!). The woman was very nice and told me they are in the process of re-formulating it (the grittiness comes from the rice powder, which combats shine) and sent me a refund check. However, I don't know when the new product will be on the shelves, but you can bet it will be amazing once they address the texture issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shine Control Liquid Makeup

Great Makeup!

PostedOct 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I really do like this foundation. I don't know why it constantly gets such negative reviews! It has controlled the shine of my super oily skin DRAMATICALLY, and tone is generally quite good and is natural looking.
i was a little scared to use it after changing from skin clearing makeup since this foundation has no acne medication, but i'm pleased to see no breakouts! In fact, I seem to have less that i usually do!
the only things that i do not like about this are the packaging and smell. The packaging is annoying and getting the foundation out is a pain, and the smell is just revolting. However, the smell is just temporary when you put it on and i don't smell it at all during the day.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shine Control Liquid Makeup

Oil free and beautiful!!

PostedAug 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Tampa, Fl
Age:18-24
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I have very oily skin! Because I suffer from acne it is hard to find a foundation that wont give me that "dewy" look. I switched from Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24H to this! sounds crazy right? NO! I LOVE THIS STUFF!! The grainy texture feels a bit weird at first, but when added onto my beauty blender it gave me a flawless finish! I must also say in order for your face to keep the "oil free" look you must follow with the shine control powder. That is when it works best! I have yet to try it with the primer. I am very happy with the foundation and the powder. It's coverage is great considering I try to hide my acne. It gives a beautiful, "natural" look! LOVE LOVE LOVE it!!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Shine Control Liquid Makeup

Made my skin feel "normal"

PostedJul 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Charleston, South Carolina
Age:35-49
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I got a tiny sample of this from Ulta. Based on reviews on other sites, I wasn't going to buy it. But when I put the sample on my face it was like magic. I wish I could describe it better...It just made my super oily skin feel like normal skin would. It felt that way all day. I would use this as a primer/oil control mattifier even if I didn't like the look of it. I do have blemishes so for a full coverage look, I topped it with my mineral makeup powder and my husband said I was pretty. Can't argue with that. A must for me from now on. By the way, I am a real person who doesn't waste time writing reviews but I had to because I love it that much.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Shine Control Liquid Makeup

Lasts less than an hour and Maximizes pores!

PostedApr 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Seattle, WA
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Skin Tone:Fair
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I was looking forward to using this, as even 16 hr makeup gets oily after about 4-6 hours. Plus, it was my first experience with Neutrogena cosmetics. Oh, what a waste of $12, and Neutrogena will never again be in my makeup case. Had a smeary, streaky apearance that wouldn't blend, regardless if I used my fingers, a sponge or a brush to apply. No coverage unless I was heavy handed. And once it started to get shiny, it settled into my pores (my pores aren't that big, mind you), and gave my face an orange peel texture. Not to mention the unpleasant gritty consistancy. Please don't waste your money!!! I'd give it no stars if I could.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Shine Control Liquid Makeup

I am beautiful again!

PostedNov 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Duluth, MN
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
I have tried so many different foundations on the market, including much more expensive ones. There was always something wrong about it: the shine was too much, the color was too dark or light, it made my skin feel oily, etc. In my continued search I came upon Neutrogena, which I should have been trying all along. I have fallen in love with Neurtogena's No Shine Foundation. It goes on well, allows my face to breathe, lasts throughout the day, holds my powder well, the shade is perfect for my skin tone, and I don't feel like I need to cake it on. Finally, I found a foundation I can live with and feel comfortable wearing everyday.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Shine Control Liquid Makeup

The worst product ever

PostedSep 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from NYC
Age:25-34
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily
Skin Tone:Light
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I never have been disappointed that much with a beauty product as with this one.
I tried it on me and it looked horrible. It makes your skin looks so grainy, that nothing can help you - neither primer or setting powder.
I gave this foundation so many tries and every time had to wash it off.
And after all - I tried it on my friend, just to see if it was bad just on my skin, or generally the product was bad. And guess what, she had the same grainy effect on her skin as I did. We had to throw this foundation in garbage. Feel bad for waisted 12$.
I love this brand, but something is wrong with this particular line.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
4of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Shine Control Liquid Makeup

The best foundation I have used so far!

PostedAug 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Greer, SC
Age:13-17
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I have always had trouble finding a color light enough for my skin seeing as how I have a very fair skintone. I also have oily skin so I needed something to help that. This is the best foundation I have used so far! It's amazing! The color is absolutely perfect and my skin looks so natural! I had another brand of makeup where I used just the foundation and the translucent powder and it looked very bad, but with this, I used the foundation and the invisible powder and it looked perfect! It is so light I don't feel like I have anything on. I would definitely recommend this product! Great job Neutrogena! :)
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Shine Control Liquid Makeup

Disappointed

PostedSep 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Puyallup, WA
Age:25-34
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
I've been looking for something that would keep my face from looking oily around the T zone and less shiny everywhere else. I used this with the Neutrogena Shine Control Primer and was severely disappointed. It was thick and didn't blend very well. It left my face feeling very tacky, even after I set it with a powder. I couldn't get over how shiny and greasy my whole face looked! The only thing that was ok was the color. It reminded me of Neutrogenas Healthy makeup, but in a different bottle. This foundation doesn't do anything it claims to do and made my face look worse than it did without the makeup!
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Shine Control Liquid Makeup

Keeps my skin oil-free all day!

PostedJan 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from New Jersey
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily
Skin Tone:Light
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
My skin gets very oily with liquid foundation but I've always preferred it over powder. Every long wear foundation made my skin oily in just two or three hours and I'd have to do touch ups all the time. When i put this foundation on and blended it with a brush, it stays oil free almost all day. If I put it on at 8 in the morning, I don't have to touch it up until at least 4 with just a touch of powder to last me through the night. I wouldn't recommend just blending it with your fingers though. If you buff it in with a makeup brush, it lasts much longer I've found. This is a great product!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Shine Control Liquid Makeup

Better than I expected

PostedJul 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Rockford, IL
Age:25-34
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I had been using mineral makeup for over 10 years and I was a little nervous about going back to a liguid makeup but I have to say that I am glad that I gave this product a try. It goes on very nice and wears well all day. It does seem to control the shine but I have very oily skin so it does get shiny after a few hours but I don't think it's a failure on the products part I think it's just that my skin is that oily. It is a little hard to get out of the bottle I really wish they would switch to a pump design, I think I would have given this 5 starts if it had that feature.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Shine Control Liquid Makeup

I Like this

PostedApr 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Indianapolis,IN
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Skin Tone:Light
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I am 42 years old and I do like this....yes it's a little on the "gritty" side when applying (I do wish they could smooth this out) but once it sets it is very natural looking and I really love the "soft" finish. Seems to last most of the day. It does NOT stay matte for very long though and I am combination/oily, so if you are really oily, it probably won't control for very long. I love the color selection (especially the buff) and the fact that it doesn't settle in my fine lines. I would repurchase this because it is better than most high-end foundations I've used.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Shine Control Liquid Makeup

Save your money ladies, this product is a fail!

PostedMar 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?4
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily
Skin Tone:Light
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I purchased this product for the claims made by the bottle, "Shine Control Makeup" ? More like Shine CAUSING, I would really love my money back, I paid $13 for the worst drugstore foundation I have ever got my hands on. I didn't mind the sandy texture, I thought that was somehow correlated to the shine control but it seems to do nothing. After one hour of wear my skin is even more oily than when I have no makeup on. please save your money, product not worth it. I hate to generalize but i'll just be completely staying away from all Neutragena products from now on.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Shine Control Liquid Makeup

8 hours, more like 3

PostedMar 31, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from north carolina
Age:I'd rather not say
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?5
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily
Skin Tone:Light
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
i just got this product a few days ago and couldn't wait to put it on when i got home, the rice protein makes it hard to blend and it doesn't always look natural, but it is breathable, and coverage isn't that great, it evened my skin tone but my acne was still red. after 3 hours (just laying around in the house) my t zone was getting oily. i didn't get the primer and powder so that maybe why but i was disappointed... if you got the whole set you might get different results, or if u used blotting sheets but i wasn't that impressed, this is getting returned.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>