Customer reviews for neutrogena.com Pore Refining Toner

neutrogena.com Pore Refining Toner

Pore Refining Toner visibly reduces the appearance of pores and refines skin to be clear, smooth and more even toned. This Alpha and Beta Hydroxy formula is dermatologist tested to deliver visible results. First, it sweeps away dead surface skin and refines rough, uneven patches. Then, it penetrates deep into pores so they appear smaller and less visible. Skin is left feeling soft, smooth and refreshed. Won't overdry skin Non-comedogenic (won't clog pores) Dermatologist tested
Overall rating:
4.377 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(106 reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary 106 reviews
5 stars
76
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
7
90 out of 10387%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Pore Refining Toner
Review 1 for Pore Refining Toner

Bye bye pores

PostedJun 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Los Angels ca
Age:45-54
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?5
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
This is a great pore reduction toner. I've been using a much more expensive product that didn't work half as well.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pore Refining Toner

The product is not for me!

PostedJun 27, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Fullerton, CA
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
My friend recommended me this product; however, my skin became so oily after using this toner. It eventually caused break-out on my skin. I tossed away my barely used bottle since I dont wanna return a product that I already use.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NeutrogenaConsumer CareJun 27, 2015
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Neutrogena Pore Refining Toner. We're so sorry to learn about the reaction you had to this product as that is not typical. We take these matters very seriously and we'd like to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048 from 8am-8pm ET Monday through Friday.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pore Refining Toner

My go to

PostedJun 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from California
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?4
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
This was my go to toner during my teenage years to prevent acne. As I got older I strayed away and no longer used toners. Recently medication has mad my hormones crazy and my skin even crazier... After spending a lot of money on products promising to refine my pore etc that ended up irritating my skin , I went back to this the first time I used it I could no longer see huge pores on my cheeks and even though their is alcohol it didn't burn my sensitive skin. It is a very cheap glycolic acid product I'm so glad Neutrogena still makes it my search is over.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pore Refining Toner

Fresh and clean

PostedJun 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Memphis, TN
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?3
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I bought this to help reduce the size of my pores. I believe it has helped. I use it with several other products for large pores and I think using all of these together has helped my condition. It leaves my skin very clean and fresh feeling. And, I have noticed that it even removes dirt that I didn't see after washing my face before applying this.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pore Refining Toner

Very Effective!

PostedMar 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
My pores have shrunk considerably ever since I started using this product combined with the Neutrogena Pore Refining Cleanser.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pore Refining Toner

Great Product!

PostedMar 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Brockton, MA
Age:45-54
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I thought because my skin is oily/dry, that I would have major issues with this product. I was completely wrong! Neutrogena Refining is one of the BEST products, I have used in many years! In just a few days, I noticed a great difference. My face is smooth/clear and brighter. I recommend this product 100%. Thank you for this invention.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pore Refining Toner

Not good for fair, dry/normal, or sensitive skin

PostedFeb 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from London, Ontario
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Dry
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Maybe this works for those with oily skin, but for me, this dried out my skin like crazy, made me nose MORE oily, enlarged me pores, caused me to break out, and made me look like I have rosacea. I ended up tossing it with 3/4 of it left. I would NOT recommend this for dry or sensitive skin. It is basically alcohol and heavily scented.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareFeb 25, 2015
Thank you for your review, missweston. We are sorry to hear about your experience. We would like to speak with you to gather more information since this is not typical. Please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 between Mon-Fri 8AM-8PM EST. We look forward to hearing from you. Thank you!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pore Refining Toner

skin is smoother

PostedFeb 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Jericho vt
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?6
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
This product makes skin much smoother and easy to apply. I will buy again.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pore Refining Toner

Wonderful!

PostedFeb 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Arkansas
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?3 to 6 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I fight a constant daily battle with blackheads/enlarged pores in my t-zone. I have always been a fan of neutrogena skin care, but when this line came out I knew I had to try it. I use the whole line for my daily skin care regimen. I will say, the toner I am the most impressed with. If you have to pick one product to use, I'd recommend the toner. I could see a noticable difference within a week! My pores have gone down--they didn't disappear, mind you. My skin is more even too.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pore Refining Toner

Would highly recommend!

PostedJan 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Indian Harbour Beach, FL
Age:45-54
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I purchased this product 1 week yesterday and I wasn't really expecting that much as I've used everything it seems from high priced to low priced.
After the first day, my face felt clean and smooth. I have noticed that my pores have significantly reduced after purchasing this product. I have found the product!!!
If anyone would like to see your face take on a "new you" I personally would recommend.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pore Refining Toner

Consistently clear skin

PostedDec 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Rochester, NY
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?6 MONTHS to 1 YEAR
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I began using this and at first didn't like it because I felt like it made my skin too clean, took away the good oil. I stuck with it though and after a few weeks I began to notice my skin becoming super smooth, supple, and with less breakouts. Now after a year I am addicted. I use it immediately after washing face or showering to exfoliate, clean away any residual gunk in order for pores to close cleanly. I do experience some oil and shine later during the day, and I think it's due to this toner having alcohol. Like I said above it makes skin very clean. I would not use this on dry/sensitive skin types. I have very oily skin so I can handle it. It helps if you use a light moisturizer and oil-free primer after this toner. Overall though I have found my answer to clear, glowing, smooth skin!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer Care CenterDec 28, 2014
Thank you for your review, AmeliaKay. We want to speak with you directly to learn more about your experience. Please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 between Mon-Fri 8AM-8PM EST. We look forward to hearing from you. Thank you!

+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pore Refining Toner

Love the clean feeling

PostedNov 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Winter Haven, FL
Age:55-64
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I am 59 years old and have always used Neutrogena products as recommended by a dermatologist early on. He said they make great products for less and are better than most high priced products. I went to my local plastic surgeon last week for my face plumping spa and he complimented me on my skin. I must be doing something right. I use this at night after cleansing, and it really finds even more makeup the cleansing missed. My face fills like silk afterwards and it seems to brighten my skin, like someone turned a light on. I use a night cream afterwards. I love it! I have sensitive skin and it has never bothered me.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pore Refining Toner

Excellent Toner/Mini Face lift in a bottle.

PostedOct 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from New York, NY
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
This is an amazing toner. Best if used with the cleanser and the moisturizer. However it is indeed a stand alone product as well. I use it daily. However, in the summer months I use it ever three days and then if I have a special event or pictures I use it as a stand alone prior to priming my face with moisturizer. It will minimize your fine lines and pores it is amazing. It also cleans your pores like no ones business. Give it a try. You wont be dissapointed. Please do take care to protect your face from the sun with an SPF as it with all exfoliants they will leave your susceptible to sun damage if you do not.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pore Refining Toner

"Not intended for acne"?- dont believe it!

PostedOct 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from South Carolina
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?5
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Glycolic and Salicylic acids are great for acne. Both of these chemicals are in this product. For my skin which is SOOO problematic this toner is EXACTLY what I have been searching for. Pores look better, skin is clearer, and what you pay for these two things in most acne products is much higher! I am so happy to have found this toner and would recommend it to anyone who is struggling with acne prone skin!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pore Refining Toner

Brown Spots

PostedSep 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Stillwater, OK
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?6
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I read a review on this site about a user who ended up with brown spots on her/his face. At first I couldn't believe that a toner would do that, I figured it must have been something else she/he was using. I was totally wrong! I used the face wash for about 2 weeks and like the results so I decided to use the toner, after about 2 weeks of use I now have brown splotches all over my face. While it did minimize my pores, I think i would rather have the large pores then the brown spots. I have never had a face product (or any other cleansing/beauty product) do this to my face. I'm just greatly hoping it will go away after I stop using it. I bought it and started using it to make my skin better and it's only made it much worse then is was before. Biggest waste of $7 I've ever experienced.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NeutrogenaConsumer CareOct 1, 2014
Hi, jmnixon! Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear about your experience with our Pore Refining Toner. This is not typical and we would like to learn more. Please call 1-800-582-4048, we're open Monday through Friday, 8 AM-8 PM EDT. One of our Representatives would be happy to help. Have a great day.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pore Refining Toner

If I was stranded on an island..

PostedAug 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Mullica Hill, NJ
Age:13-17
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?5
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
If I was stranded on a deserted island, this is the first thing I'd bring. I've struggled with visibly clogged pores all over my T-Zone and chin my entire life. After using this for a week my pores were basically nonexistent. I was getting much fewer breakouts and my skin was smoother and softer. Just make sure to moisturize well after using. I also suggest pairing this product with exfoliating cotton pads. I like the ones with little beads on one side from Target.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NEUTROGENA®Consumer Care Aug 4, 2014
We are happy to hear that our product has made such a difference in your skin. You mentioned that you are having less breakouts, this goes beyond what the product is supposed to do. As it is not meant to prevent acne, we would like to learn more. If you could please call us at 1-800-582-4048, we're open Monday through Friday, 8 AM-8 PM EDT. We look forward to speaking with you.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pore Refining Toner

Works Amazingly!

PostedJul 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Vancouver, BC
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?3
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I have been using various other toners and they were working, but I only had to try this one for 2 days and I can see and feel a difference already. My skin is soft and my pores are quite a bit less noticeable. I am pregnant so I wasn't expecting much, but this is fantastic!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NEUTROGENA®Consumer Care CenterJul 3, 2014
Hello! Thank you for your review. We are so glad you are a fan of NEUTROGENA®. We recommend you speak to your doctor about using this product while pregnant. We would love to speak to your more about how you use this product. Please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 8AM and 8PM EDT Monday through Friday. We look forward to speaking with you! Have a great day!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pore Refining Toner

Awsome

PostedJun 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Baltimore, md
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I have a lot of acne, and even though this wasn't specifcally for that I decided to try it. I really has improved my my more minor acne (small acne, not cysitc). Although does help when I get cystic acne for it to go away faster. I have to be careful if I am going outside in the sun for any amount of time because it really makes my skin burn. I usually just switch to alcohol-free toner if I will be outside a lot ( going to the beach ect.). I have very sensitive skin and I don't have any problems with it. I use 1 time per day before bed and occasionally in the morning. I really like that I can see it cleaning my face. Even after I have washed my face it always removes more! Especially if I have worn makeup, it gets it all off. I love this stuff! I wish it was a little cheaper, but I will still buy it cause it works so well.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NEUTROGENA®Consumer CareJun 20, 2014
Thank you for your review, Catskill123. We are happy to hear this product is working so well for you. However, since this product is not intended to remove acne, we would like to speak with you to gather more information. Please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048. Our care specialists are available Mon-Fri 8AM-8PM EST. Thank you and we hope to hear from you!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pore Refining Toner

Large pores are gone!

PostedJun 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Washington DC
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?3
How long have you been using this product?6 MONTHS to 1 YEAR
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I bought this product expecting a lot, and honestly hated it at first. I realized it had alcohol. Despite that, I tried to used it, and it burned my face, dried it out in some areas, and irritated it and causes small pimples in other areas. I do have pretty sensitive, combination skin, so I figured I should probably count my losses on this product.
I almost returned it, but then I saw how good my nose and under my eyes where I usually have large, very visible pores. They looked better than I had seen them in years!
So now, I use this product regularly, but only on my nose and the under-my-eye cheek area. I only use it every other day, and only use a very small amount that I apply to a cotton ball. I have had no irritation or drying since starting to use it this way, and my pores stay so small compared to how they normally appear.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NEUTROGENA®Consumer CareJun 19, 2014
Thanks for the review on our toner! We're glad to hear you continue to use our toner despite the reaction you experienced. The initial reaction you experienced is not typical, and we would like to learn more about it. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 8am-8pm EDT Monday through Friday. We look forward to hearing from you.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pore Refining Toner

Does what it says

PostedApr 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Northern Indiana
Age:55-64
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
I am 59 years old. I had not used a toner in several years, but the pores on my nose and chin were so large and ugly I decided to try this. The difference was almost immediately noticeable. After 2 week, using twice a day, my skin looks markedly better. Also, it doesn't make my skin dry and flaky at all. Wonderful! I'm going to start trying more of their products!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>