Customer reviews for neutrogena.com Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser

neutrogena.com Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser

Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser helps you visibly reduce the look of pores just by washing your face. In fact, it does so effective pores can look up to half their size in just one week! This dermatologist-tested alpha and beta formula works in two ways to deliver results. First, exfoliating micro beads gently sweep away dead surface skin and smoothes over rough, uneven patches. Then, the alpha-hydroxy formula penetrates deep into pores to remove dirt, oil and makeup that can clog and enlarge pores. Skin is instantly smoother and more even toned, and pores appear smaller and less visible. Non-comedogenic (won't clog pores) Soap-free Dermatologist tested Clean-rinsing
Overall rating:
4.795 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(264 reviews) 264
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary 264 reviews
5 stars
240
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
7
252 out of 26296%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser
Review 1 for Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser

Not the same product as before!

PostedNov 21, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from New York, NY
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I so LOVED the original Neutrogena Pore Refining Cleanser and stocked up when the company discontinued it. I was admittedly giddy like a kid in a candy store upon finding out Neutrogena brought it back which meant that I no longer had to scour the internet for the cleanser and horde it whenever I could. Unfortunately I'm very disappointed, to say the least, at Neutrogena's decision to drastically reduce the number of microbeads. I've been using the original for at least 8 years. I'm currently using the original and the new product and the difference is obvious. The original (Neutrogena Pore Refining Cleanser) has a decent amount of microbeads that you can feel scrubbing your pores away of the dirt and grime. The new one (Neutrogena Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser) has such few microbeads I can barely feel them on my face. Funny that the addition of the word 'Exfoliating' resulted in the reduction of the very item needed to achieve such end. The two products are like night and day. Please bring back the perfect original product and I'll be a fan for life as I've always been but if Neutrogena keeps making the cleanser as is I might have to stockpile the original one when I find it and hope Neutrogena changes its formula back to the original before my ration runs out. Fortunately, the ingredients are exactly the same in the new cleanser as in the old cleanser. The difference (and may I say it's a huge one) is in the number and size of microbeads.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+30points
32of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser

Pretty good

PostedJun 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from FA
Age:13-17
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?4
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
So I literally bought this in the last hour.
I used it as soon as I got here.
Well the packaging is typical. Its not wonderful, not below average, but average. The quality is good though.
Secondly, The smell is...not the most pleasent .
It smells kinda ugh. Not exactly bad, like to the point where you wouldn't use it , i mean i cant even smell it till you put it to your nose. But it smells like a slight ..just ugh and a little bit like lotion.
But I dont expect anyone to be smelling my face.
The consistency was perfect. I loved it. I myself, hate creamy cleansers because its so difficult to wash off. Its white with little tiny micro beads in them, also white. The cream washed off easily, I got a bit in my eye, it kinda burned , so, watch out for that.
After I pat dried my face, my face looked a bit better. I couldnt see my pore at all looking in the mirror so that great. I was also wearing makeup, and quite a bit came off. Id recommend taking off makeup then washing your face with this though.
Overall I think this product was above average. Like on a scale 1-5 , its like a 4 . Theres always room for improvement you know.
I would've liked to see a pump but thats kinda stupid to request. Also the smell bothered me.
My first impression, Im under 19 so yep . Id recommend this .
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
-6points
6of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser

Thanks for bringing it back!

PostedFeb 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Hays, KS
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?3
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Glad Neutrogena decided to bring this back on the shelves! I still was using the Pore Refining Toner but could not find the matching face wash anywhere. Nothing else worked as well. Either it did not clean well enough or it was too drying. I love the entire Pore Refining line! Glad to see they extended it and offer the blue gel cleanser (which I LOVE) as well. I use the gel cleanser daily and this srub twice a week for a deeper pore cleaning effect. My skin has never looked better. This cleanser does not overdry. Cleans deeply and decreases pore size as well as breakouts. This line is perfect for adults with acne/blemish prone skin while being sensitive skin or just not wanting to dry out skin. The other Acne lines from Neutrogena are more for younger skin (too harsh and drying) and the regular cleansers did nothing to help prevent breakouts (fresh foaming or Deep Clean). This cleanser is the perfect combination! :)
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser

Zits are gone

PostedJul 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Columbus, OH
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I tried this product on a whim because I wanted to buy an exfoliating product and had seen commercials for this on TV. On first seeing the cleanser, I thought the beads were very tiny and didn't appear as though they would actually exfoliate the skin. Oh how wrong I was! I have noticed a significant improvement in my skin, not only in the size of my pores, but also the number and severity of my zits. This has almost completely cleared the area between my eyebrows where I have been cursed with practically constant pimples for about 2 years. I have also noticed that my skin appears less dull and blotchy looking, so the minuscule microbeads must be doing their job. I will say, however, the scent reminds me of a doctor's office, but I am definitely willing to overlook that for such an amazing product.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NEUTROGENA®Consumer CareJul 16, 2014
AwesomeSauce25, thanks for your great review! We'd love to talk with you in more detail about how this product helped to clear up your acne, as this is not an expected benefit. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048 Monday - Friday from 8am - 8pm EST. We're looking forward to your call!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser

I have used this product for many years.

PostedOct 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from New York, NY
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
This cleanser is amazing. The scent is neutral and it really does what it is advertised to do and much more. Not only does it minimize my pores, it also refines my fine lines and keeps my skin soft and pimple free. What more could a guy ask for. This product was discontinued for a while and was brought back in the recent years. In the interim I have purchased other more expensive brands and have had mixed results. The formulation works well. Just remember if you are going to use it. Use it as directed. Do not forget to protect your face when in the sun. You will see sun spots appear if you do not protect your face. Read the instructions carefully. As with all AHA and BHA products it does increase sun sensitivity. It says so right on the tube.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser

Finally found something worth my $

PostedSep 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Salem, OR
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Dry
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
My goodness, I have been searching for the right face wash for 7+ years, and I finally found something that helps. I used to have terrible acne, but now I just get a lot of blackheads and some whiteheads. The occasional zit comes through during my period. Normally, neutregena products break me out hardcore. But, I decided to give this stuff a shot. I just bought my second bottle! The biggest improvement would have to be the texture of my skin. It's normally rough and dry, with lots of big pores. Now it's soft and my pores are significantly smaller. I also use a loufa everyday the scuff off my dry t-zone to improve the texture. My skin isn't perfect, but I'm so lucky to have found this stuff! Best my skin has looked since I was 12 years old.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer Care CenterSep 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you found a product that works for you. We're sorry to hear that you had a reaction with one of our products. That is not typical of our Neutrogena® products and we'd like to learn more. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 8am-8pm EDT Monday through Friday.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser

SHOCK AND AWE!!

PostedJul 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Oaklyn, NJ
Age:55-64
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?3 to 6 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I will soon be 62 years old and I have struggled with skin problems since puberty. My skin was always prone to break-outs, was both oily and dry, and generally had a ruddy appearance. When I first saw the commercials for the Neutrogena pore refining products, I thought I'd try it. Truthfully, I believed they would become the newest members on my "tried and failed" shelf of products. To my amazement, my skin looked and felt better after the first use. Now several months later, my skin has never looked better. My pores are definitely smaller and cleaner, and my entire face has a healthy glow I've never experienced before. Please...never stop making it!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser

I need this cleanser.

PostedNov 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
I love this cleanser. It is gentle and manages to keep my skin even. With other cleansers I get patches of dry skin. I'm allergic to most of the 'medicine' in a lot of them to control acne. I have been using this for many years and I was scared it was being discontinued as well when I started having a lot of trouble finding it, I emailed Neutrogena and all I got was a list of retailers but they would not answer about the possibility of it being discontinued. I hate the idea of losing this product. I can't understand why they would remove a popular product.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser

It's Back!!!

PostedMar 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from usa
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I just saw an ad on tv for this and looked it up online immediately to verify that it really was back!! I was a loyal user of this and then it vanished! Looked for it everywhere and wound up empty-handed. Nothing I've tried as a replacement has been satisfactory, aside from adding jojoba oil to my routine. Thank you Neutrogena for bringing this back. Smells great, feels great, minimizes pores, and leaves you clean and exfoliated. Other reviewers mentioned this is great on their older skin, but I am in my later twenties and its fabulous for me too!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser

Please Bring This Back!

PostedNov 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Ann Arbor, MI
I am incredibly disappointed that you have withdrawn this magical and incomparable cleanser! After hunting high and low for this (and your Lavender and Chamomile Relaxing Bath Gel that I placed in every soap dispenser in my home), I've finally accepted that it's gone. Please consider repackaging this cleanser in your Ageless Intensives® product line-it cleans, it smooths, it glows the skin like no other. I have recommended this product to so many people (even strangers in stores) and I just hope you can find a way to re-launch it. Please!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser

Decent Cleanser

PostedAug 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Virginia
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?3 to 6 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I was fairly impressed with the product's ability to remove oil and dirt without leaving a nasty film of something on my face. However, I have noticed no change in pore size, increased redness and breakouts (not in new areas mind you, just more than average frequency throughout use of this product by itself for a 3-4 months), and the fact that the clean feel is not long lasting for me personally means I'll keep looking for something better. Overall though, it's been okay and could be really good for someone with less sensitive skin.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser

Consistently Good Results

PostedNov 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Perth, Australia
I have been using this cleanser in conjunction with the Pore Refining Toner for years and I have never found anything that makes my skin look or feel better. Everything else I try (even other Neutrogena cleansers) leads to breakouts or leaves a sort of unpleasant film on my skin. While I can't make claims for actual "pore refining," my skin is smooth, clear, and less oily and that's all that matters to me. Rename the product if you need to, but please don't stop making it. I have definitely recommended it to people in the past.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser

Best Cleanser Ever

PostedNov 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from North Royalton, OH (Cleveland)
I have very oily mature skin, large pores. This is the only cleanser that I found which really cleanses thoroughly and my pores have become very visibly smaller. I love it!!!
Problem is....I can't find it anywhere! I'm tired of looking in every store for it.
Neutrogena, don't do me like this. I thought surely I'd be able to purchase this perfect product on line from you directly. Please!!! Make it available. This is a wonderful product. There are lots of us who need this product.
Judi from North Royalton, OH 44133
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser

Amazing for oily skin

PostedSep 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from allentown,PA
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
its my first time to write a review on some product.recently i have come across this product. I m having super oily and acne prone skin but it suits better to my skin and doesn't causes me new breakouts...
also i m using neutrogena all in one acne control tonner morning and evening to the most acne prone area only.. nad the results are really amazing i m not getting any major breakouts since i have started using it.I am so very happy to tell this news to all my friends who suffer from the same acne problem sinc years.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser

So happy to see this in the stores again!!!

PostedAug 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Iowa
Age:45-54
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I have been using this product for many years and have never found anything that compares for my skin. I use this product for multiple reasons. It smooths/softens my skin, reduces the appearance of my pores, and fends off any breakouts. I have sensitive skin and this cause me no problems. I have used it both before and after menopause and it continues to work for me.
It's been really hard to find the last couple years, so I'm hoping finding it for sale on the website means the product is making a comeback.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser

Feels clean and soft

PostedFeb 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Iowa
Age:55-64
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Normal
I do like this product and am using it morning and nite. I used to use Neutrogena fresh Foaming face Wash, but seemed to develop a sensitivity to it and I like this much better. This product doesnt seem to change after using it like other products do. If I use the face wash I used to use, it starts to get yellowy on my skin and can cause it to be too sensitive. If I use soap after a little while it gets dry and hardening on the skin. This makes it feel healthy with integrity and not over cleaned/stripped.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser

Glad it's back!!!!

PostedApr 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Dallas, TX
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
I used this years ago, and then it wasn't on shelves anymore. And now it's back!!! :) It is the the only product that has made a major difference in reducing my pore size, fading dark spots (90% gone, no lie!!), and giving me a "glow" My family and friends are complimenting me on how my skin looks smooth and radiant. I've been using it for 2-3 months now and I moisturize with Virgin Cold Pressed coconut oil morning and night. Thanks Neutrogena for putting this Pore Refining cleanser back in my life!!!!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser

BRING IT BACK!! absolutely the best

PostedOct 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from chicago, il
this product manages my half dry/half oily skin, minimizes breakouts and most importantly is the only thing I've ever found that has prevented these 2 big dark spots I get on either side of my chin every month. I ran out and haven't been able to find it for a couple months. Honestly, I could cry - please, I beg, bring it back. There are far too many products on this site with great reviews that are out of stock. What's going on! Come on Neutrogena - give us back the great products that we love.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser

Please bring this product back!

PostedMar 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Nashville/Murfreesboro TN area
I've been using this product for over 15 years & love it, it is the only facial cleanser I can use that really cleanses my skin & unlike most advertising it does what it claims to do it minimizes pores! I'm almost 50 years old but with this product as part of my skin care routine I do not look it, I've been out of it for a month or so now & can already see a negative difference in the way my skin looks & feels ! PLEASE!!!! Put this back on the market there's nothing else like it out there!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pore Refining Exfoliating Cleanser

Pore Refining Cleanser

PostedJul 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Please please bring this pore refining cleanser back. I have used it for many many years. My skin looked so good even at my 50 something age without anything else. I use nothing but Neutrogena products, make up, cleanser, etc. I even have my high school/college age son using nothing but Neutrogena products. I hate having to search and try other sources for what I crave for my skin with large pores when I know there has been a perfect soluction with the Pore Refining Cleanser.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>