Customer reviews for neutrogena.com Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer

neutrogena.com Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer

Neutrogena® Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer targets dark marks to help brighten and even skin tone FAST! Clinically proven to improve the look of discoloration and dark spots in just 1 week! With Accelerated Retinol SA plus an exclusive booster that accelerates skin's surface activity to help smooth wrinkles and diminish the look of age spots. Plus, Vitamin C gently helps diffuse the look of brown spots and even out skin tone. Accelerated Retinol SA Reduces the look of dark spots and discoloration Brighten and evens skin tone Smooth fine lines & texture
Overall rating:
3.574 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary 54 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
13
34 out of 5265%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer
Review 1 for Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer

Didn't work for me.

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from birmingham, al
Age:I'd rather not say
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Reading over all of the reviews is very interesting. This product apparently works wonders for some, but for others does little or even aggravates problems. I'm afraid that i'm in the latter group. Maybe this product is very good for certain ages and skin types and very bad for others. I have drier, older skin and was hoping that this would, in addition to giving me younger looking skin overall, erase some brown spots. The first night I applied this, the scent and the retinol bothered me so much that I had to remove it all. In fairness, retinol in general bothers my eyes, so this was not my first problem with it (and i've never continued to use it), So i thought that if I just applied the Neutrogena to one large spot on my cheek that I could at least remove the one spot . The Repair did not work in one, two, three, or four weeks. What it did do was to lighten the skin around the brown patch, so now I have a light ring around the patch, which now looks darker by contrast. Need I say more? Not a happy customer though I have loved the brand Neutrogena and benefitted from many of its other products over the years.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NEUTROGENA®Consumer CareJun 1, 2014
We are very sorry to hear about your experience with NEUTROGENA®. This is definitely not typical of our products and we would like to gather more information about what happened. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday-Friday 8AM-8PM EDT.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer

Dissapointment in a bottle...

PostedApr 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Laredo, TX
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?4
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I purchased this product thinking I was going to love my results but I was completely taken by surprise when the complete opposite occurred. The morning after the first use I noticed my eyes were a bit swollen and irritated. I dismissed it thinking it was just too early in the morning and my still needed to "wake up". After three more days of using this product my eyes were so swollen, irritated, and peeling that I looked horrible! Instead of correcting the fine lines around my eyes it enhanced them and created more. Bags under my eyes were so large, puffy, and wrinkly that my coworkers thought I hadn't slept for days. I'm 36 but my eyes looked like I was in my 60s. I couldn't believe how red and puffy they were and how old this product made me look when it clearly states it minimizes the look of fine lines. I stopped using this product to see if perhaps something else had irritated my eyes but once I began using it again - all the same symptoms returned! I'm extremely disappointed with this product! I've always trusted Neutrogena's products but this was just a complete let down. $20 plus tax down the drain... I will warn people of this product rather than recommend it.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NEUTROGENAConsumer CareApr 14, 2014
Thank you for your review of this product. We would like to learn more about your experience. Please call our customer care center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 8AM and 8PM EST Monday through Friday. One of our care specialists will be happy to speak with you.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer

Very Highly Perfumed

PostedApr 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Florida
Age:55-64
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I have used Neutrogena products for years for their quality and focus on hypoallergenic ingredients. However, I was very disappointed in Neutrogena and this product because of the heavy fragrance. As soon as I put some in my hand, it smelled like I had opened a bottle of perfume. I put it on my face and had to wash it completely off after 5 minutes. I don't understand the reason to have any type of fragrance in this type of product, especially one left on overnight while you are sleeping and one that is used around the eyes, nose and sensitive areas of the face.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer

Be Careful What You Wish For

PostedFeb 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Fresno, CA
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Let me start by saying that I was looking for a product to make my normal skin look even better. After the first use, I noticed MAJOR changes in my skin, and not positive ones. The skin around my nose, my chin, and around my eyebrows was peeling, but ironically, my skin felt more oily overall. I understand that the retinol can cause redness and peeling until the skin adjusts, but this was BAD. After nighttime cleansing, I normally use a serum, followed by an anti-aging night cream. This product felt more like a serum than a cream. My skin did NOT feel supple or moisturized. I waited it out, hoping my skin would "adjust", as the bottle says. After one week of use, my skin was a MESS. My once clear, soft skin was now rough, peeling, and uncomfortable. Worse yet, I started developing acne around the areas where the peeling and skin exfoliation was taking place, which is something I've never had a problem with in my life. I tried to switch to every-other-day use, as the instructed on the bottle, but my skin never recovered. It took a full two weeks for me to nurse my skin back to health after discontinuing use of this product. Once my skin was back to normal, I gave this product a second chance, as I did not want to return it, and had paid more than $25 for it. It has now been three days, and my skin has returned to the flaking, oily mess it was weeks ago. Such a waste of time, money and effort. So very disappointed. I am glad I gave this product a trial-run several months before my upcoming wedding!!
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer

if you have sensitive skin, be careful

PostedJun 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from California
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?3
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I have very reactive skin. By that, I mean that my skin is prone to reacting in a negative way if it doesn't like a particular product. I did a spot check on my chin the first evening. Having noticed nothing the next morning, I used it all over my face, and again in the evening. By the next day, I had an almost rash like breakout all over my cheeks. I did not have this reaction on my forehead or chin. I assumed this was normal. The next morning, I used the product again. By day's end, with the exception of my forehead and chin, my skin was so broken out and inflamed that I didn't want to be seen by anyone. Needless to say, I had to discontinue use of the product and return it. Unfortunately, my skin just cannot tolerate anything with such potent ingredients. My mom, however, had great results with this product. She had initial peeling, but no breakouts or rashes.
I will continue to use Neutrogena products, but I will avoid anything with retinol-SA and/or a fragrance.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
12of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer

Burned!

PostedJun 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Jax, FL
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I used this product for only a week. I know the product stated some redness would occur, but after 7 days my face looked as if I had been laying out in the sun. My skin was dry, red, blotchy, and was starting to peel. I stopped using it immediately and went back to another brand's night cream. After a few days of that everything was fine. I was really excited about this product but will not use it again.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer

Did not work

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Caldwell, Idaho
Age:55-64
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
I have been using this product for over a month and I see no improvement in my skin tone. I am 66 years old and have some uneven tones and age spots on my face and I see no difference with this product.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer

Horrible

PostedApr 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from seattle,WA
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?3
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
I purchased this moisturizer after reading some nice reviews. I am using this product for last few week, not on everyday basis. But whenever I remember to apply it before going to the bed. Everytime when I used this product my skin is peeling. My skin was healthy before but now has dull look and rough dry patches on the face. Its an expensive waste product. Did not expect this from Neutrogena.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer

Did Not Work!

PostedFeb 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?3 to 6 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I used this product for months and saw no improvement. Several years ago, Neutrogena offered a more affordable product that helped to even skin tone - I think it had soy in it. That product seemed to work well for my skin but was only on the market for a short period of time. Since then, it seems as though the products (from Neutrogena) that focus on skin tone are more expensive yet less effective.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer

Rapid Toner

PostedNov 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I have been using this product now for almost one month and I have not seen any result.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer

scent is terrible

PostedNov 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from steubenville, OH
Age:55-64
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?1
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Normal
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I just purchased this product and the scent was so awful.....I can't imagine using it. Sorry I purchased it. Very disappointed!
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
-11points
0of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer

Did not work

PostedOct 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from State College, PA
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?5
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Been applying this product for about three weeks. I thought it used to work, but as the climate got colder the dryness of my skin was palpable. My skin is okay the morning after, but as soon as my wash my face the effect is gone. It's funny because I thought moisturizers were to come in handy especially in dry seasons. It doesn't whiten either nobody can seem to notice. I am not buying this again.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer

Horrible fragrance

PostedOct 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I don't even know how well this product works as the moment I put it on my face I had to take it off. The fragrance is overwhelming.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
-11points
1of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer

Ragato

PostedFeb 15, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Riverside, CA
Age:45-54
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
The pump did not work the second time I used it. Unlike other containers where you could cut it open to get all the product, this one is either glass, about half the product was wasted. I was very disappointed that it did not feel that it moisturized. I have always liked Neutrogena products, but this experience has caused me to think twice before I make another purchase.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer

I have not seen any results

PostedJan 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
I have been using this product for almost two months and I have not seen any results even after finishing the second bottle. I have been consistent with the application of the product every night and I can honestly say it has made no difference for me.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer

Trying this for the first time

PostedDec 12, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Charlotte, NC
Age:55-64
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?1
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Dry
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
I bought this product today and am hoping that (after my dermatologist appointment today), that the dark (maturing spots as the doc called them), will begin to noticeably fade. I only used a bit today but hours later am noticing a slight tingle, burning on my skin. I'll use less tonight to see if it does the same.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer

No expired day in both the box and product

PostedJun 12, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Texas
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?5
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I bought this product in amazon.com, sold by amazon.com. I bought 2 products, day and night.
Only the day product has expired day on 12/2014.
My product has only this # lot0503L0043. Please give me the expired day for this product. Thanks!
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
-26points
2of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer

Greasy

PostedApr 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Miami, Fl
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
This product is a little too greasy for me. It made my skin soft but it gave me pimples. I'm not sure if I'm applying to much on my face or not. A pump barely spread around my nose and forehead so I usually use a pimp and a half. It still seemed like a small amount but either way it made me breakout in my problem area which is my jawline. I don't get breakouts often so I know that it was caused by this product as soon I stopped using it the pimples stopped coming. I won't be buying this again.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer

not so good

PostedFeb 4, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from boston ma
Age:55-64
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
although its been only a week and a 1/2 I have noticed nothing
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Rapid Tone Repair Night Moisturizer

My skin is peeling...

PostedJan 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from 60060
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?3
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Dry
Quality 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
I am using this product for 3 days. My face skin peeling off and very sensitive . What should I do? Please help me...
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>