Customer reviews for neutrogena.com Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

neutrogena.com Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

This face wash contains natural salicylic acid found in Willowbark bionutrients to penetrate deep into pores to detoxify and help remove dirt, oil and makeup, while rinsing clean without pore-clogging residue.
Overall rating:
3.464 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(265 reviews) 265
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary 265 reviews
5 stars
120
4 stars
35
3 stars
18
2 stars
32
1 star
60
167 out of 25565%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser
Review 1 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Great Product!

PostedJul 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
Age:I'd rather not say
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I have been using this for a little over 2 weeks and I have nothing but good to say about the product. It takes all of my makeup off, hasn't given me any new breakouts, and smells great!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Not For Sensitive Skin

PostedJul 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Houston, TX
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I was hesitant to use this cleanser due to all the reviews, but my gamble paid off. This cleanser controls my oil, and a little goes a long way; one bottle lasted me a little over three months. The pump locked well and never leaked while I traveled, and while I've never used it to remove makeup from my face, the cleanser cleans makeup brushes and sponges well.
My cons are that the first time I used the product, my skin itched, but I never broke out in an allergic reaction. The cleanser's also drying (I do moisturize after cleansing) and stings the eyes.
I already have a second bottle since I didn't receive a negative reaction and hope it'll continue to perform well.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NeutrogenaJul 3, 2015
Thank you for your review. We would like to learn more about your experience with our product. If you could, please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 Monday- Friday 8am- 8pm EDT. Thank you!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

I wish I can get it at Mexico!

PostedJun 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Sinaloa, México.
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I really like this product, it really helps with redness and my pimples. I use it at night and at the morning I can see that it reduces my redness really well. But now, I have to wait until go to the US to get it.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Nice, but not for sensitive eyes!

PostedJun 9, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Enfield, CT
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I have been using this cleanser for about a week. I've really been trying to get into a good groove with skincare. I love the way that this product removes my makeup so easily and leaves my skin looking so nice. However, I do not have sensitive eyes AT ALL and this drives my eyes CRAZY! They turn so red and sore, I keep using it because I love my skin but my eyes are crying!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer Care CenterJun 9, 2015
Thank you for your review, Monamakeup. We hope your eyes are feeling better. We're sorry to hear you experienced irritation while using our cleanser. We wouldn't expect that to happen and would like the opportunity to learn more. Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048 between 8AM to 8PM EST Monday-Friday so taht we can chat about this and gather a few more details for quality purposes. We look forward to your message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

If you are allergic to Aspirin

PostedMay 31, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Texas
Age:25-34
Quality 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
If you are allergic to Aspirin, do not use! Willowbark, come to find out, is natural Aspirin. I had an immediate allergic reaction/ rash on my face.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer Care CenterMay 31, 2015
We are sorry to hear that you experienced a rash while using this product. This is not what we would expect from our product and we want to learn more. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048, we're open Monday through Friday, 8 AM-8 PM ET. We hope to hear from you soon. Have a great day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

No problems using this daily

PostedMay 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?3 to 6 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I use this product daily and did not have any issues with more breakouts or a burning/tingling sensation. I have oily skin with my chin being my biggest breakout area issue. I use this product along with Neutrogena Naturals Cleanser and Makeup Remover.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

great facial soap

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from eastern wa
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?6 MONTHS to 1 YEAR
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Removes eye make up, has a nice smell, and it's thick so you don't have to use a lot.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Gave me pimples

PostedMar 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from fl
Age:13-17
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?2
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
I haven't had pimples for 2 years but the very first time I used this product it gave me pimples on my nose, chin, and forehead :(
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareMar 22, 2015
Hi acnefree2027. We're so sorry to heat that you had this experience. This is not something that's typical and we'd like to speak with you to learn more. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our care specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EDT. We look forward to speaking with you.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Caused burning and rash

PostedMar 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Detroit, MI
Age:45-54
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
At first there was a very slight burning, but nothing I was concerned about.
But then I developed serious rashes around my eyes, ears, nose and mouth.
It has taken 2 trips to the dermatologist, 3 different ointments and, and 8 months, and my face is just getting back to normal
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareMar 12, 2015
We are so sorry that you had this experience with our product. This is not typical and we want to learn more about what happened. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048, we're open Monday through Friday, 8 AM-8 PM EDT. We hope to hear from you soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

My skin is normally soft.

PostedMar 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Chicago
Age:45-54
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?5
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
This product was not for me, I started to use it, my face was so red, itchy, and broke out on my nose, and cheeks, this face wash burns!!!!
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareMar 11, 2015
Hi Draco 93. We're so sorry to hear that you had this experience. This is not something that's typical and we'd like to speak with you to learn more. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our care specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EST. We look forward to speaking with you.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Burns my face!!!!!!!

PostedFeb 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Central Virginia
Age:13-17
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?3 to 6 MONTHS
Skin Type:Normal
This face wash burns my face and causes redness. It also causes slight facial swelling. I do not have sensitive skin, nor have I ever had a reaction from a Neutrogena® product or any other face wash product before. Use with caution!!!!
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareMar 1, 2015
Hi ohemmgeelivia. We're sorry to hear that you had this experience. This is not something that's typical and we'd like to speak with you to learn more. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our care specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EST. We look forward to your call.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

DO NOT USE IF YOU HAVE SENSITIVE SKIN

PostedFeb 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Seattle, WA
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?5
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I've had this cleanser for two months now. The first month I was using an Aveeno cleanser and that was amazing. The second month I ran out and noticed I still had 3/4 of a bottle of Neutrogena so I began using that. My skin reacted SO poorly with it. For a while I thought it was my makeup, then I thought it was my beauty blender, and then I blamed my hormones. Nope. It was this cleanser. I currently have tiny red bumps clustered on my forehead and chin because of this cleanser. I don't know if it's the formulation but my skin has never reacted this horribly to a product. This stuff is NOT for people with sensitive skin. You WILL break out in awful bumpy rashes all over your face! AVOID!
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareFeb 21, 2015
Hi beijo21 and thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser. We're so sorry to learn about the reaction you had with this product as this is not typical. We take these matters very seriously and we'd like to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 8am-8pm EST Monday through Friday. We look forward to hearing from you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Do not recommend!

PostedJan 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from NC
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?5
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Used this product for 5-6 days and then began developing a terrible reaction to it, as many others have described in reviews. My skin is now bumpy and red, like a rash. I mistakenly thought the "natural" line would not produce these results. I would not recommend.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareJan 23, 2015
Hi, RLnc. Thank you for taking the time to review our product. We would like to speak with you to learn more about your experience with this product. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our care specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EST. We look forward to your call.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Burned my skin

PostedJan 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Destin,Fl
Age:18-24
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I bought this product thinking it would be good for my skin especially since it said "natural". I only washed my face with it once because it literally burned my skin! I could feel burning from the moment I applied it to my face but I thought that it would go away....it got worse and I immediately rinsed it off and my whole face was beet red! I showed my mom and she said keep rinsing your skin and get that off. I rinsed for about 5 minutes and dried my face and couldn't believe how red. I then put my face in a fan to try and cool my skin and finally applied vitamin e in hopes no damage was done. I don't know what caused this to happen, but it was a nightmare!
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NeutrogenaJan 19, 2015
Thank you for your review. Your experience with our product is something we would like to learn a little more about. If you could, please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 Monday- Friday 8am- 8pm EST. Thanks and we look forward to hearing from you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Skin becomes irritated.

PostedJan 9, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from New Zealand
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?4
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
First couple times it seemed fine with my skin and worked well with the Multi-Vitamin Nourishing Moisturiser. Though after the fourth day it started to burn afterwards and create redness around different parts of my face. I have a normal skin type and this make it burn.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer Care CenterJan 10, 2015
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you experienced a reaction while using our product. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience with our product. Your experience is not typical and we would really like to gather more details for quality purposes. When you have a moment, please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m - 8:00 p.m. ET. We look forward to speaking with you soon!

+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Burns and Redness!

PostedJan 7, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Ithaca, NY
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?4
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
I don't have sensitive skin, and even harsh products seem to do fine on my face. But something in this cleanser is NOT what they market it to be. After putting it on my face, I noticed a burning sensation, but that is the case with other anti-acne products, so I just let it do its thing. After washing it off, I was left with a tomato red rash on my face which burned like crazy and was hot to the touch. I got this product specifically because it says it has no harsh chemicals and is gentle on the skin. Obviously no consumer testing was done before putting this on the shelves because I have read dozens of other reviews all saying the same thing. Please fix this, it's not ok to have false advertising.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareJan 8, 2015
We are very sorry to hear this happened to you, Jorca. This is definitely not typical of our product and we would like to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday-Friday 8AM-8PM EST. We hope to hear from you. Have a great day!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Love it!

PostedJan 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?6 MONTHS to 1 YEAR
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Love this product. Helps keep my skin clean and clear without stripping it and drying it out.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Amazing!

PostedJan 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from California
Age:13-17
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Apart from problems with the bottle's pump (doesn't work at first unless you push down really hard until you hear a pop sound), this is amazing! I just bought my second bottle of it today. Usually, face washes don't get all of my makeup off (when i use toner on a cotton ball after, theres still makeup coming off) but with this its all 100% gone! LOVE IT!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Please NEVER ever stop making this!

PostedDec 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Ohio
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
This is by far the best cleanser I've ever used. I used to use other cleansers and regular Neutrogena products (the orange wash) which is good, but this is just....amazing. This is the only cleanser I've ever stuck with for good. It is so much gentler and has balanced my skin in ways I've been hoping for for years. I've struggled with acne and oilyness my whole life, but right now my skin is the best it's ever been (as a note I also use a Bare Escentuals moisturizer and Lush products like masks/scrubs) but I feel that this wash is the starting point for great skin. Without it, I don't think the rest of my skincare routine would be as successful. Please Neutrogena, never discontinue this. Please keep it in your lineup for years and years to come! I will continue buying.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Better Than You Would Think!

PostedDec 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Chicago, IL
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I've been using this product for about three weeks, and I can see such a noticeable difference in the improvement of my skin. I have never been able to actually SEE results from a skin cleanser before, but this product improved my skin so much that even my husband commented on my skin! (He said that my face looks very bright and refreshed, when I DIDNT have ANY makeup on!) I have very fair and a bit freckly skin. This product has evened out my skin tone throughout my face and has almost erased any dark circles I used to have under my eyes! I used to wear foundation every day to work, but now after using this product I just dab on a tiny bit of loose powder and some blush and my skin looks so beautiful. I can sincerely say that this product has improved my skin. It does make my skin just a teeny bit dry after washing, but I just spray a bit of rose water or makeup mist on my face and that issue is gone. I highly recommend this product.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareDec 9, 2014
Hi jllowery7. Thank you for taking the time to review our product. We would love to speak with you to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our care specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EST. We look forward to your call.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>