Customer reviews for neutrogena.com Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

neutrogena.com Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

This face wash contains natural salicylic acid found in Willowbark bionutrients to penetrate deep into pores to detoxify and help remove dirt, oil and makeup, while rinsing clean without pore-clogging residue.
Overall rating:
3.578 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(225 reviews) 225
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary 225 reviews
5 stars
109
4 stars
29
3 stars
17
2 stars
23
1 star
47
147 out of 21967%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser
Review 1 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Burned my face and turned it Red

PostedJul 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Grande Prairie, Alberta
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?1
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I used this product and it started to burn, i left it on a few more minutes as i thought maybe it was just tingling helping to clean my pores but it became unbearable so i washed it off. My whole face was burned RED like a sun burn, and it hurt! My face is still red the next day and i will not be using this again...
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NEUTROGENA®Consumer Care CenterJul 24, 2014
Hello and thank you for your review. We are so sorry you experienced irritation while using our product. It is not typical and we would like to speak to you directly to further assist you. Please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 8AM and 8PM EDT Monday through Friday. We look forward to hearing from you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Best Cleanser Ever!!!!!!

PostedJul 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Jacksonville, FL
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I love the Neutrogena Naturals Purifying Facial cleanser I pray they never stop making this! My skin is so much clearer and soft and I wish I would have tried this sooner.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

dont use

PostedJul 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from gueydan
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?2
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
i bought this an used it twice both time my face turned red an feels like its on fire i will never use this again very upset
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NEUTROGENA®Consumer CareJul 15, 2014
We are sorry to hear about your experience. This is not typical and we would like to learn more and speak with you. If you could please call us at 1-800-582-4048, we're open Monday through Friday, 8 AM-8 PM EDT. We hope to hear back from you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Horrible red, bumpy rash!

PostedJun 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Lodi, CA
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?4
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
It is Wednesday morning. I bought this product on Saturday. I used it Saturday night, Sunday night, and Monday afternoon. By Monday evening, I had an itchy rash forming on my jawline. By Tuesday morning, it had spread to my entire face and neck. It consists of very small pimply bumps. My face was burning, tingling, and itching. I used hydrocortisone, which help with the itch, but left my face feeling even nastier. Late last night, I put some pure, organic aloe juice on my face, which helped with the burning and tingling almost instantly.
Using the product is the only thing that I have changed in my daily routine. Thus, it has to be the culprit. Also, as I went to Doctor Google to investigate this problem, I found that many people are experiencing the same reaction - within the last week! Additionally, the reviews here and the reviews on Amazon sound exactly like what I am experiencing. With so many people having serious reactions, how can you continue to market such a product? Obviously, the phrase "No harsh chemicals" is untrue. Just because something is natural does not mean that it isn't harsh. Willow bark has an extremely high concentration of salicylic acid so saying that it is a "natural form of salicylic acid" can be very misleading, coupled with the "no harsh chemicals" claim on the bottle.
I will NEVER buy a Neutrogena product again, Naturals or otherwise. I cannot support a company that does nothing to ensure the quality of its products and safety of its customers. For those of you experiencing a similar rash, spread the word so that people won't have to go through this.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NEUTROGENA®Consumer CareJun 12, 2014
We always value our consumer's feedback, crunchy1. We are so sorry to hear that you had this experience. This is not something that we would expect from our products. We would like the opportunity to speak with you directly to gather more information about what happened. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. We are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EDT. We look forward to hearing from you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

BEST all Natural cleanser for the money!!!

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Hickory,NC
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I am not a review giving kind of person, but I feel that others who are looking to change to a more natural take on everyday products, especially for personal care, this is the BEST I have found! I have searched for a loooong time and have gone through many products and found that they either cost an arm or leg, or they are not completely all natural and harsh chemical free. This is the BEST OF BOTH WORLDS!! I cannot tell you how different my skin feels, the cleanliness, the light feeling, the improvement of my complexion. I HIGHLY recommend this product along with the Naturals Body Bar Soap of this line (which is also fantastic from my experience, and this is coming from a body wash preferenced user). I also have sensitive skin, and this has passed the test. I look forward to trying more Natural products from Neutrogena!!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Serious Pump Issues

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Sydney, Australia
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?3 to 6 MONTHS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
This is the second bottle of the Naturals face cleanser I have bought in the last 5 months and the second time I have struggled to get the pump to do its job properly. I have been forced to use it daily by opening it at the base.
(I do love the product once I actually breach the seal!)
I took it back to the pharmacy where I bought it from and neither of the staff or pharmacist on duty could open it either.
I can't be the only one having problems, Neutrogena, could you please address this and give me some tips in the meantime? It really shouldn't be so difficult!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Works Well and Smells Good

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
Age:I'd rather not say
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?3
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Wow, I have used plenty of Neutrogena and other brands. However, this is the first time I used a product and I immediately wanted to write a review about it. Bottom line, it worked well and smelled wonderful. It is a good facial cleanser. I found it to be a reasonably priced product, too. I have decided to use this facial cleanser as my one of my only go-to products.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Burning sensation then red rash all over my face!

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Lethbridge, Alberta
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?1
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Normal
Alright so washed my face with the cleanser and as I was exfoliating it my face started to burn so I washed it off instantly then when I got out of the shower and took a look in the mirror my face was full of red rashes and tiny little pimples the redness went away but the rash and small pimples are still there which really sucks...never happened to me before this is the first time my skin reacts that way to any kind of product but it really sucks and burns :(
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NEUTROGENA®Consumer CareMay 20, 2014
Hi AliLethbridge. We are so sorry that you had this experience with our product. This is not something that we would expect and we would like to speak with you directly to gather some additional information. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. We are available Monday though Friday 8AM to 8PM EDT. We look forward to hearing from you.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Finally Clear Healthy Skin!

PostedApr 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Redlands, CA
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I have tried so many cleansers over the years I can't even remember them all, including another Neutrogena line and nothing cleared my skin. I saw this product in the store shortly after its release and I've been a faithful user ever since. I use it in tandem with the Pore Purifying Cleanser and it has completely cleared my skin and I can now regularly go without makeup! Thank you Neutrogena Naturals!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NEUTROGENA®Consumer Care May 1, 2014
Hello briarrose091, we are so happy to hear that our NEUTROGENA® Naturals products are working so well, and you are able to keep that natural look!! You mentioned that you had used other cleansers of ours, and that they did not work for you. Since this is not normal, we would like to learn more about your past experience. If you could call us at 1-800-582-4048, 8 AM- 8 PM EDT, Monday through Friday. Looking forward to your feedback!



+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Love this stuff! my skin is crystal clear

PostedApr 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
So I had been using the same face wash for a few years now (which also was by neutrogena) ... all of a sudden I had these crazy breakouts. Which usually I only break out when it's that time of the month. And even then it's like 2 pimples. So I started having these really bad breakouts for a couple.months. finally I bought this face wash and instantly cleared up and have had zero breakouts. I've been using it for over a month now. Overall my complexion has cleared up and honestly I don't think it's ever looked this great! My face is also very soft and I don't need to even moisturize after washing. I absolutely love this face wash!!!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NEUTROGENA®Consumer CareApr 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. We would like to chat with you more about your experience with our product. Please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 8AM and 8PM EST Monday through Friday. Thank you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Caused red rash and pimples

PostedMar 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Connecticut
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I would be interested to know which ingredient in this product caused an adverse reaction in so many customers, including myself.
Needless to say, it should be avoided.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NEUTROGENA®Consumer CareApr 1, 2014
We're here to help you, NoNaturals4Me. Any adverse reaction to our products is not typical and we would like to speak with you to learn more about what happened. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048 between 8AM to 8PM EST Monday-Friday. Thank you!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Really annoying!!

PostedMar 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from San Francisco
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?1
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
I bought this product because i have been using organic & natural products for my face and just ran out.
I read the reviews before I used it luckily!!!!
I tested a patch on my neck and the product made the area red raw and sore :((
Really annoyed and disappointed. Nothing natural about it & certainly not for sensitive skin. Very misleading.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Horrible product for my Skin

PostedMar 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Memphis,TN
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
I had high hopes for this product as i went to purchase it. It thought it would be awesome for my skin since it's naturally and it was suppose to work according to reviews i read. Boy, was i mislead. This product broke out my skin even more. Everyday while i was using this product, new additional bumps appeared after i went to sleep everyday. Needless to say i was not satisfied!
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Broke out in a painful, terrible rash

PostedFeb 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Los Banos, CA
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?1
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
so i got this product thinking it was hypoallergenic like it says on the back of the bottle... used it ONCE... and my entire face broke out in a painful, stinging horrible rash. tried calling the hotline, but they are closed. :(
Please if your gonna buy this product, test it out on a small portion of your face first to see how it works.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Great..while it lasted

PostedFeb 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Indiana
Age:13-17
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I started using this product and right away, I loved it! It cleared all of my acne and I had no acne for about 5 weeks. However, after that, this product completely stopped working, and I started breaking out again. I thought maybe my skin got used to it so I stopped using it for a while. I tried it again about 5 weeks later and it still did not work. I used this product once in the morning and once at night.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Make me breakout!

PostedFeb 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Charlotte, NC
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
I've recently swithched from another cleanser to this Neutrogene product, and it made my skin breakout really bad. I got red bumps on my forehead and break out on my chin as well. The bumps started itching really bad and I decided to stop using this product.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Breaking out..

PostedJan 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I never break out...but once I started to use this product I have been noticing acne. I am a fan of Neutrogena products but clearly the natural face wash wasn't meant for my skin.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Best cleanser I've ever used

PostedJan 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Tulsa, Oklahoma
Age:13-17
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I bought this product looking for something to gently clear up a breakout caused by a benzoyl peroxide system. After 2 uses my skin was almost completely clear. It does leave my skin a little blotchy and hot for about 30 minutes after use, but it fades. I did have an issue when I tried layering a moisturizer; my skin flared up red and was very hot and itchy. it went away after about an hour, and now i don't use a moisturizer in the evenings when I wash my face.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Red reaction - from G6PD user

PostedJan 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Richmond Hill, Ontario
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?3
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Normal
Usually, I've a big fan and trusted Neutrogena products. However, I was kinda disappointed with this product. I saw that it's all natural with Sulfate-Free and Paraben-Free, so i give it a try.
As a G6PD user, I would think Sulfate-Free product is best suitable for me, however, not this product. After each usage, my face goes red with tingling sensation. It took a long time to go away the redness.
I suspect is the Willowbark ingredient (claimed to be nautural source of salicylic acid) that are too strong which causes this effect.
Therefore, this is not recommended for people with G6PD and sensitive skin.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Terrible product, bad reaction

PostedJan 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from NC
Age:18-24
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I don't usually write reviews but after using this product my face turned red and really hot. I do not recommend this product and it sounds like this has happened to a lot of people.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>