Customer reviews for neutrogena.com Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

neutrogena.com Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

This face wash contains natural salicylic acid found in Willowbark bionutrients to penetrate deep into pores to detoxify and help remove dirt, oil and makeup, while rinsing clean without pore-clogging residue.
Overall rating:
3.527 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(241 reviews) 241
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary 241 reviews
5 stars
112
4 stars
33
3 stars
17
2 stars
28
1 star
51
155 out of 23267%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser
Review 1 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Not too bad

PostedNov 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
I have tried millions of face products. I like the smell of this product. I think it does its job. The thing is, I paid $15 for a really small bottle and I could not keep using a product that expensive in a regular base. Once used for the first time, I feel clean and fresh which is great.
It feels natural and I normally think Neutrogena is one of the best brands out there.
I would do a better size (much bigger) and change the prize.
It is not a bad product after all.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

I have my skin back!

PostedNov 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Upstate NY
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I'm 22 years old and have been battling adult acne for the past year or so. My skin is sensitive, but I have an oily T zone, and dry/sensitive cheeks. I developed tiny, subdermal bumps all over my face. They were EVERYWHERE. I was so embarrassed by my skin that it actually began to affect my life. Well, I decided to try this product and I have never been happier! My skin looks so amazing!! This cleanser is perfect; it is tough enough to blast through my makeup and oily t-zone, yet sensitive enough that my face doesn't feel dry or irritated after use. After the first few washes, I did experience a little breakout, but that is completely normal when changing acne washes. Bottom line, I'm a Neutrogena Naturals girl for life!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareNov 4, 2014
Hi there. We would love to speak with you to learn more about your experience with our product. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our care specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EST. We look forward to speaking with you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Too much fragrance

PostedOct 31, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from atlanta, ga
Age:45-54
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Especially for being a "natural" product, this cleanser has too much fragrance. A scent is left behind on my skin after using, which I do not like.
Please remove the fragrance from this product.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

LOVE LOVE LOVE

PostedOct 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
My skin feels so fresh and clean after using this product, it doesn't burn my face and it has a mild fresh smell to it.. nothing strong! It's natural so it works for a natural clean look!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

HATE this. Burned my face.

PostedOct 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?4
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
I dont typically go out of my way to write reviews but as this is the second Neutrogena product that has burned my skin I felt compelled. I was able to use this about half way through the bottle when it suddenly started burning the corners of my nose and my chin. I immedately washed it off and was left with red patches around these areas and sore, irritated feeling. The last time this happened to me was with their pink grapefruit line (which I also do not recommend) and it took a couple days for my skin to calm down.
I dont think myself to have very sensitive skin but their facial cleansing products have just unleashed havok on my skin. I was mislead by the "naturals" claim. Something in this is still too harsh and Im willing to bet its the willowbark.
Not gentle and to me personally not worth it. Save your money.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareOct 27, 2014
We are sorry that you had this experience with our product. This is not typical and we want to learn more about what happened. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048, we're open Monday through Friday, 8 AM-8 PM EDT. The care specialist that you speak with will be happy to help you. Have a great day.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Not good for sensitive skin

PostedOct 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from San Francisco, CA
Age:18-24
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Dry
Quality 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I so wanted to enjoy this product because it was advertised as having all-natural ingredients and no harsh chemicals, but sadly it fell short of my expectations. The first few washes left my skin feeling nice and smooth but into my second week of using it, I started to get dry and burning sensations on different spots on my face. I started using it every other day and even then it didn't feel any better. This facial wash might be great on regular skin but if you have sensitive skin like I do, I wouldn't recommend using the product.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareOct 21, 2014
Hi maryT and thank you for taking the time to review one of our Neutrogena® products. We're sorry to hear that you experienced a skin reaction, that is not typical of our products and we'd like to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 8am-8pm EDT Monday through Friday. We look forward to speaking with you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Love the way this product makes my skin look/feel

PostedOct 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I wish I would have taken a before and after picture from when I first started using this product. I had some significant break outs when I started using it and the next day the break outs were smaller in size and the redness was reduced. With continued use of this facial cleanser the break outs got smaller, less red, and less noticeable. They also stopped hurting so badly as well. I've been using the NN product line for about 2 months now and I absolutely love it.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareOct 7, 2014
Hi AprilH803. Thanks for taking the time to review our product. We would like to speak with you directly to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our care specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EDT. We look forward to speaking with you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

This Stuff Works!

PostedSep 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from DMV
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?5
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I remember that I had this pimple on my face awhile the rest of my skin was clear and the morning I woke up after the night I washed my face with this stuff, the pimple not only reduced in redness but it shrunk in swelling and size! I was so amazed! I lie TO YOU NOT!! Who else gets results like this ON THE FIRST TRY? This was the very first Neutrogena Naturals product I used and I am in love with the collection! It works well with the other NN products I use and with my makeup! It's a knockout.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Will Never Buy Again

PostedSep 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Hebron,KY
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I used this product for two weeks along with the moisturizer because I liked the idea of using all natural products on my skin. After a week, my skin became very bumpy and splotchy. The second week my skin started to break out and was very oily. Definitely will not purchase again & not happy about spending almost $20 on weeks of horrible skin!
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareSep 24, 2014
Hi, Emily. Thanks for taking the time to write a review for our product. We would like to speak with you to learn more about your experience. This is certainly not typical of our products. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our care specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EDT. We look forward to speaking with you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Not so great

PostedSep 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Frederick MD
Age:45-54
I really like how this makes my skin feels but it makes my face break out and get redness so I have to stop using it
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareSep 22, 2014
Thank you for your review, Diane. We are sorry to hear about your experience. We would like to speak with you to gather more information since this is not typical. Please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 between Mon-Fri 8AM-8PM EDT. We look forward to hearing from you. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Burned a lot and made face red!

PostedSep 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Cape Coral, FL
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?3 to 6 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I love how this product is not tested on animals, and also how it is more natural than most drugstore products. But every time I use it my face burns like crazy and get all red, and when I put on my moisturizer, it will burn even more! It eventually goes away but is so irritating! I want to love this but I can't! :(
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareSep 6, 2014
Hi ktrendafilov. We are so sorry to hear that you had this experience with our product. We would like to speak with you to learn more about what happened. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EDT. We look forward to hearing from you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Seems like my acne and redness is getting worse

PostedAug 31, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Auburn NY
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
been using this since Friday and 1-2x a day also in conjunction with the pore purifier cleanser and It seems like my acne is getting worse with redness getting ready to go back to my harsh drying out Clearasil !! I would get maybe try getting the all in one acne however cant return either I do believe I have the receipt but walmart wont allow it but I bought it to try and get rid of acne because I thought my face and something gentler would help it its Monday am and still no relief from this acne and its itching more and more pore and pimple seem to pop up HELP!! Great Face Cleanser Cruddy Acne Helper (SO far)
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareSep 2, 2014
Hi CNYKim. We are so sorry to hear that you had this experience while using our product. This is not something that is typical. We would like to speak with you to learn more about what happened. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EDT. We look forward to hearing from you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Neutrogena Naturals

PostedAug 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Dallas,TX
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?6
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I have been using this product for 3 years and have never had a problem. It leaves my skin quite soft and very clean with a glow. It also leaves a light natural scent that I love.After reading some of the comments it may not be for all but I think it is a great product that I will continue to use!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Not what I expected

PostedAug 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Pennsylvania
Age:13-17
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I don't usually write reviews, but I felt that this was necessary. I'm 16 years old, and have combination skin. I bought this product because the one I was using before made my skin dry and thought that a natural cleanser was the way to go. I've only used this cleanser 2 times, but as soon as I rinsed it off, my skin felt dry and tight. I woke up in the morning and my skin was peeling everywhere! My cheeks, nose, forehead, and even my chin! Very disappointed and will be throwing away.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareAug 18, 2014
Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to review our product. We are so sorry to hear that you had this experience. This is not something that we would expect from our products. We would like to speak with you to learn more about what happened. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EDT. We look forward to hearing from you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

a pleasant surprise!!!

PostedAug 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from louisville, kentucky
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?3
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Dry
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Dis is the first neutrogena natural product dat i tried out & was surprised...after the first use itself my skin felt silky soft, and for a natural product it was a good make up remover as well. it has a pleasant & soft fragrance...i definitely am a fan
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

I FINALLY HAVE CLEAR SKIN!!!!!

PostedAug 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from TX
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I've been trying to get clear skin for YEARS! I've tried numerous products, gone to different doctors and nothing has worked! Except for this!!! I have really sensitive skin & this product is so gentle! I didn't even realize that my skin was clear until I looked at a photograph I had recently taken of myself! I know this isn't an acne product, but this cleanser cleared up all of my acne! Do you hear me, ALL OF IT! When I first got this product I saw someone's review that said that they finally had clear skin and I said, "Oh good for you; I don't think that will happen for me." But it did! Oh my goodness it did! My acne cleared up in a week! I use it twice a day with a plastic clairsonic brush my friend gave me to make sure the cleanser is really going into my pores. It smells great & if works even better! I CANT BELIEVE I HAVE CLEAR SKIN AFTER FIVE YEARS OF UNSUCCESSFUL PRODUCTS! I want to scream it from the mountain top! I'm so happy! Thank you Neutrogena!!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Burned my face and turned it Red

PostedJul 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Grande Prairie, Alberta
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?1
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I used this product and it started to burn, i left it on a few more minutes as i thought maybe it was just tingling helping to clean my pores but it became unbearable so i washed it off. My whole face was burned RED like a sun burn, and it hurt! My face is still red the next day and i will not be using this again...
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NEUTROGENA®Consumer Care CenterJul 24, 2014
Hello and thank you for your review. We are so sorry you experienced irritation while using our product. It is not typical and we would like to speak to you directly to further assist you. Please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 8AM and 8PM EDT Monday through Friday. We look forward to hearing from you!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Best Cleanser Ever!!!!!!

PostedJul 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Jacksonville, FL
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I love the Neutrogena Naturals Purifying Facial cleanser I pray they never stop making this! My skin is so much clearer and soft and I wish I would have tried this sooner.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

dont use

PostedJul 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from gueydan
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?2
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
i bought this an used it twice both time my face turned red an feels like its on fire i will never use this again very upset
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NEUTROGENA®Consumer CareJul 15, 2014
We are sorry to hear about your experience. This is not typical and we would like to learn more and speak with you. If you could please call us at 1-800-582-4048, we're open Monday through Friday, 8 AM-8 PM EDT. We hope to hear back from you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Horrible red, bumpy rash!

PostedJun 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Lodi, CA
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?4
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
It is Wednesday morning. I bought this product on Saturday. I used it Saturday night, Sunday night, and Monday afternoon. By Monday evening, I had an itchy rash forming on my jawline. By Tuesday morning, it had spread to my entire face and neck. It consists of very small pimply bumps. My face was burning, tingling, and itching. I used hydrocortisone, which help with the itch, but left my face feeling even nastier. Late last night, I put some pure, organic aloe juice on my face, which helped with the burning and tingling almost instantly.
Using the product is the only thing that I have changed in my daily routine. Thus, it has to be the culprit. Also, as I went to Doctor Google to investigate this problem, I found that many people are experiencing the same reaction - within the last week! Additionally, the reviews here and the reviews on Amazon sound exactly like what I am experiencing. With so many people having serious reactions, how can you continue to market such a product? Obviously, the phrase "No harsh chemicals" is untrue. Just because something is natural does not mean that it isn't harsh. Willow bark has an extremely high concentration of salicylic acid so saying that it is a "natural form of salicylic acid" can be very misleading, coupled with the "no harsh chemicals" claim on the bottle.
I will NEVER buy a Neutrogena product again, Naturals or otherwise. I cannot support a company that does nothing to ensure the quality of its products and safety of its customers. For those of you experiencing a similar rash, spread the word so that people won't have to go through this.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NEUTROGENA®Consumer CareJun 12, 2014
We always value our consumer's feedback, crunchy1. We are so sorry to hear that you had this experience. This is not something that we would expect from our products. We would like the opportunity to speak with you directly to gather more information about what happened. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. We are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EDT. We look forward to hearing from you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>