Customer reviews for neutrogena.com Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

neutrogena.com Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

This face wash contains natural salicylic acid found in Willowbark bionutrients to penetrate deep into pores to detoxify and help remove dirt, oil and makeup, while rinsing clean without pore-clogging residue.
Overall rating:
3.428 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(278 reviews) 278
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary 278 reviews
5 stars
124
4 stars
37
3 stars
18
2 stars
32
1 star
67
172 out of 26764%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser
Review 1 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Great Cleanser!

PostedFeb 9, 2016
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
Age:I'd rather not say
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily
I love this cleanser- it cleans really well without drying or irritating my skin and my skin feels really soft after using this face wash. It works really well with my Clarisonic brush too. I also purchased the day time face cream which is also really nice. Next, I want to purchase the lip balm. Neutrogena is definitely one of my favorite brands for skin care.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Burned my face

PostedJan 28, 2016
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Denver, Colorado
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?1
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Dry
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
First time using it and it BURNED MY FACE! Immediately it started to burn, and by the time I could rinse it off it was very painful. When I got out of the shower my face was red, burning and felt like I had been sitting in the sun all day. Luckily the pain went away and my face was back to normal color by the time I went to work.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NeutrogenaConsumer CareJan 29, 2016
Hello, thanks for stopping by! We're so sorry you had this experience while using our product. This is not what we would expect. We're happy to hear your face went back to normal. However because this is not typical we'd like to have the opportunity to speak with you on the phone. Please call our Consumer Care Center at: 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM to 7PM EST Monday-Friday. Thank you, we look forward to speaking with you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Can't even compare to other natural products!

PostedJan 27, 2016
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I have acne-prone skin, which has finally gotten under control. However, finding a facial cleanser that works for me without drying out my skin is so hard! Most cleansers have salicylic acid in them, which is a medicine that is meant to clear breakout. However, that leaves my skin with a tight feeling after washing and makes it feel very dry which later causes my skin to produce EXTRA oil to compensate for the dryness. I've tried other natural products but they are either out of my price range or don't leave my skin feeling clean, as I wear powdered foundation make up every day. THIS PRODUCT HAS WORKED WONDERS FOR ME! It takes off my make-up and leaves my skin feeling fresh and clean without feeling like it has been stripped of the natural oils! I have not had dry skin results with this cleanser and my skin's oil has been balanced. Not all formulas work the same on all people, however if your skin is stubborn when it comes to traditional cleansers and you can't afford pricey facial cleansers, I recommend you give this product a go! You may be very satisfied with the results!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Terrible product!

PostedJan 20, 2016
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?1
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I have sensitive skin, so I always try to use products with the most natural ingredients. When I used this in the shower my face immediately felt on fire. I washed it off quickly, but when I got out my face was extremely red, puffy and still felt on fire!
Bottom line - do not buy this product. I threw mine out already.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NeutrogenaConsumer CareJan 21, 2016
Thanks for bringing this to our attention, jgal898. We wouldn't expect you to experience puffy, red, or burning skin while using our product, and we want to learn more about what happened. Please call our consumer care center at your earliest convenience: 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available from 8AM to 8PM ET, Monday through Friday. We hope to hear from you soon!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

I really like this

PostedDec 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?3 to 6 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I'm allergic to most cleansers, shampoos, and lotions. However, I am able to use this product and not have to worry. I like the way it smells, and it's not a bad price in comparison to other face washes I can use. I also really like that I know what my cleanser is made out of. Makes my skin feel nice and clean, and a little bit of the product goes a long way.
Always make sure to moisturize after washing your face, which is the rule for all face washes.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Left my skin burning

PostedDec 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Denver, CO
Age:18-24
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Dry
Had high hopes for this. I've been trying to use natural products a lot more lately however when I used this in the shower my face almost immediately felt super hot and on fire. I quickly washed it off and once I got out and looked in the mirror my skin was super red and puffy. It looked like a horrible sunburn. try it out on a small patch of skin first. Definitely won't use again
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NeutrogenaDec 6, 2015
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. This is not something we would expect of our product, so we would like to speak with you further about this. If you could, please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 Monday- Friday 8 am- 8 pm ET. Thank you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Best daily cleanser!

PostedNov 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Alabama, USA
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Absolutely love this cleanser! It left my skin feeling soft and clean but not stripped. Not to mention it smells amazing! My skin was dried out and damaged when I first started using it, and it would sting a little when I would wash my face. But after my skin healed, I never had a problem with it again. It is my absolute favorite. I've tried others since I first bought it (even some old favorites of mine), but they just do not compare to this one. I can't wait to try other products in the Naturals line!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NeutrogenaConsumer ServiceNov 23, 2015
Thank you for your review, BackToBasics890. We'd like to learn more about your experience with our product. Please give us call at 1-800-582-4048 between 8AM and 8PM ET Monday-Friday and a specialist will gladly help you. Thanks again for reaching out to us and we hope you have a wonderful day!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Face feels oily, itchy, red bumps

PostedOct 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Central Illinois
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?6
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I have been trying to find a product with less harsh, toxic chemicals and thought this would be perfect! But after using consistently for about a week, my face feels much more oily than usual. Also my face and neck feel itchy and I have lots of small red bumps along my jawline and cheeks. Also breaking out on my forehead. This is really disappointing as I have been trying for so long to find an affordable product suitable for sensitive skin that will actually effectively treat acne.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NeutrogenaConsumer CareOct 14, 2015
We're very sorry to hear about your experience with our product, GradStudent01. This is not something we would expect from our products and we would like to learn more about what happened. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday-Friday 8AM-8PM EDT. We hope to hear from you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

My face is on FIRE and ITCHY

PostedOct 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Orlando, FL
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?2
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I used your product for just 2 days and my face is beyond dried out, super red, and very itchy. My eyes are swollen too. I feel like my face is on fire. I will never use this product ever again.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NeutrogenaConsumer CareOct 5, 2015
We're sorry to hear about this, katie1680. We wouldn't expect this kind of reaction while using our product, and we'd like to learn more about your experience. Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048 Monday-Friday between 8AM-8PM ET. We look forward to hearing from you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

bad rash after using this product

PostedAug 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from san carlos
Age:13-17
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
after using this product, i developed a red rash on my neck and face. it burned and itched, but after using aloe vera it went away after a few hours.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareAug 25, 2015
Hi kenzycat. We'd like to learn more about your experience with our product. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our care specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EDT. We look forward to speaking with you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

THIS PRODUCT HAS CHANGED MY SKIN!!!

PostedAug 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Bordentown, NJ
Age:13-17
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?3
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I used to have really bad breakouts and acne. But, after using this cleanser, my skin feels so soft and healthy. Now, I almost rarely breakout. The Naturals line keeps my skin soft and pretty much acne free! I use this with the Naturals pore scrub, acne spot treatment cream, and the multi- moisturizing vitamin lotion.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Test first before using!

PostedAug 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Central Virginia
Age:13-17
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I bought this for my daughter at a local pharmacy last night. I was drawn to the few ingredients and that the acne fighting properties were natural as well. She went to wash her face and said it must be working since her face felt like it was on fire. I told her to wash it off immediately! She washed it off and her face was bright red and looked like it had been sunburned! We put aloe on her to soothe it and luckily the effects were gone within a couple of hours, but I'm out almost 10 dollars and will never use this again! If you really want to use this, I recommend testing a small area of skin first to see if you have a reaction. We've never had this issue before and never thought to do that, but have definitely learned our lesson! I've sent a note to Customer Service hoping to get a refund.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NeutrogenaConsumer CareAug 11, 2015
We're very sorry to hear about your daughter's experience with our product, Avidreader_LL. This is definitely not typical of our products and we'd like to learn more about what happened. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday-Friday 8AM-8PM EDT. We hope to hear from you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Love This!

PostedAug 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Concord, NC
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?3 to 6 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I hope that Neutrogena never stops making this line of products! I have been using this cleanser in conjunction with the multi-vitamin nourishing moisturizer for about 3 months now and it is amazing how much my skin feels like...skin! Most products leave a residue or if they don't leave a residue they just feel like they aren't having any effect at all. This product literally makes my skin glow! I am very fair skinned and a bit freckly and I always felt blotchy and uneven prior to the use of this product. Now my skin is so healthy looking and it feels so good too! My only complaint is that this line does not offer an eye cream!!! I use a different brand for that now but would love to have one from this line!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Great Product!

PostedJul 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
Age:I'd rather not say
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I have been using this for a little over 2 weeks and I have nothing but good to say about the product. It takes all of my makeup off, hasn't given me any new breakouts, and smells great!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Not For Sensitive Skin

PostedJul 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Houston, TX
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I was hesitant to use this cleanser due to all the reviews, but my gamble paid off. This cleanser controls my oil, and a little goes a long way; one bottle lasted me a little over three months. The pump locked well and never leaked while I traveled, and while I've never used it to remove makeup from my face, the cleanser cleans makeup brushes and sponges well.
My cons are that the first time I used the product, my skin itched, but I never broke out in an allergic reaction. The cleanser's also drying (I do moisturize after cleansing) and stings the eyes.
I already have a second bottle since I didn't receive a negative reaction and hope it'll continue to perform well.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NeutrogenaJul 3, 2015
Thank you for your review. We would like to learn more about your experience with our product. If you could, please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 Monday- Friday 8am- 8pm EDT. Thank you!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

I wish I can get it at Mexico!

PostedJun 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Sinaloa, México.
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I really like this product, it really helps with redness and my pimples. I use it at night and at the morning I can see that it reduces my redness really well. But now, I have to wait until go to the US to get it.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Nice, but not for sensitive eyes!

PostedJun 9, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Enfield, CT
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I have been using this cleanser for about a week. I've really been trying to get into a good groove with skincare. I love the way that this product removes my makeup so easily and leaves my skin looking so nice. However, I do not have sensitive eyes AT ALL and this drives my eyes CRAZY! They turn so red and sore, I keep using it because I love my skin but my eyes are crying!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer Care CenterJun 9, 2015
Thank you for your review, Monamakeup. We hope your eyes are feeling better. We're sorry to hear you experienced irritation while using our cleanser. We wouldn't expect that to happen and would like the opportunity to learn more. Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048 between 8AM to 8PM EST Monday-Friday so taht we can chat about this and gather a few more details for quality purposes. We look forward to your message.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

If you are allergic to Aspirin

PostedMay 31, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Texas
Age:25-34
Quality 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
If you are allergic to Aspirin, do not use! Willowbark, come to find out, is natural Aspirin. I had an immediate allergic reaction/ rash on my face.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer Care CenterMay 31, 2015
We are sorry to hear that you experienced a rash while using this product. This is not what we would expect from our product and we want to learn more. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048, we're open Monday through Friday, 8 AM-8 PM ET. We hope to hear from you soon. Have a great day.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

No problems using this daily

PostedMay 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?3 to 6 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I use this product daily and did not have any issues with more breakouts or a burning/tingling sensation. I have oily skin with my chin being my biggest breakout area issue. I use this product along with Neutrogena Naturals Cleanser and Makeup Remover.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

great facial soap

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from eastern wa
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?6 MONTHS to 1 YEAR
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Removes eye make up, has a nice smell, and it's thick so you don't have to use a lot.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>