Customer reviews for neutrogena.com Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

neutrogena.com Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

This face wash contains natural salicylic acid found in Willowbark bionutrients to penetrate deep into pores to detoxify and help remove dirt, oil and makeup, while rinsing clean without pore-clogging residue.
Overall rating:
3.506 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(253 reviews) 253
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary 253 reviews
5 stars
117
4 stars
33
3 stars
18
2 stars
31
1 star
54
161 out of 24366%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser
Review 1 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Do not recommend!

PostedJan 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from NC
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?5
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Used this product for 5-6 days and then began developing a terrible reaction to it, as many others have described in reviews. My skin is now bumpy and red, like a rash. I mistakenly thought the "natural" line would not produce these results. I would not recommend.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareJan 23, 2015
Hi, RLnc. Thank you for taking the time to review our product. We would like to speak with you to learn more about your experience with this product. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our care specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EST. We look forward to your call.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Burned my skin

PostedJan 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Destin,Fl
Age:18-24
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I bought this product thinking it would be good for my skin especially since it said "natural". I only washed my face with it once because it literally burned my skin! I could feel burning from the moment I applied it to my face but I thought that it would go away....it got worse and I immediately rinsed it off and my whole face was beet red! I showed my mom and she said keep rinsing your skin and get that off. I rinsed for about 5 minutes and dried my face and couldn't believe how red. I then put my face in a fan to try and cool my skin and finally applied vitamin e in hopes no damage was done. I don't know what caused this to happen, but it was a nightmare!
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NeutrogenaJan 19, 2015
Thank you for your review. Your experience with our product is something we would like to learn a little more about. If you could, please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 Monday- Friday 8am- 8pm EST. Thanks and we look forward to hearing from you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Skin becomes irritated.

PostedJan 9, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from New Zealand
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?4
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
First couple times it seemed fine with my skin and worked well with the Multi-Vitamin Nourishing Moisturiser. Though after the fourth day it started to burn afterwards and create redness around different parts of my face. I have a normal skin type and this make it burn.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer Care CenterJan 10, 2015
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you experienced a reaction while using our product. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience with our product. Your experience is not typical and we would really like to gather more details for quality purposes. When you have a moment, please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m - 8:00 p.m. ET. We look forward to speaking with you soon!

0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Burns and Redness!

PostedJan 7, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Ithaca, NY
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?4
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
I don't have sensitive skin, and even harsh products seem to do fine on my face. But something in this cleanser is NOT what they market it to be. After putting it on my face, I noticed a burning sensation, but that is the case with other anti-acne products, so I just let it do its thing. After washing it off, I was left with a tomato red rash on my face which burned like crazy and was hot to the touch. I got this product specifically because it says it has no harsh chemicals and is gentle on the skin. Obviously no consumer testing was done before putting this on the shelves because I have read dozens of other reviews all saying the same thing. Please fix this, it's not ok to have false advertising.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareJan 8, 2015
We are very sorry to hear this happened to you, Jorca. This is definitely not typical of our product and we would like to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday-Friday 8AM-8PM EST. We hope to hear from you. Have a great day!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Love it!

PostedJan 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?6 MONTHS to 1 YEAR
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Love this product. Helps keep my skin clean and clear without stripping it and drying it out.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Amazing!

PostedJan 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from California
Age:13-17
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Apart from problems with the bottle's pump (doesn't work at first unless you push down really hard until you hear a pop sound), this is amazing! I just bought my second bottle of it today. Usually, face washes don't get all of my makeup off (when i use toner on a cotton ball after, theres still makeup coming off) but with this its all 100% gone! LOVE IT!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Please NEVER ever stop making this!

PostedDec 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Ohio
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
This is by far the best cleanser I've ever used. I used to use other cleansers and regular Neutrogena products (the orange wash) which is good, but this is just....amazing. This is the only cleanser I've ever stuck with for good. It is so much gentler and has balanced my skin in ways I've been hoping for for years. I've struggled with acne and oilyness my whole life, but right now my skin is the best it's ever been (as a note I also use a Bare Escentuals moisturizer and Lush products like masks/scrubs) but I feel that this wash is the starting point for great skin. Without it, I don't think the rest of my skincare routine would be as successful. Please Neutrogena, never discontinue this. Please keep it in your lineup for years and years to come! I will continue buying.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Better Than You Would Think!

PostedDec 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Chicago, IL
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I've been using this product for about three weeks, and I can see such a noticeable difference in the improvement of my skin. I have never been able to actually SEE results from a skin cleanser before, but this product improved my skin so much that even my husband commented on my skin! (He said that my face looks very bright and refreshed, when I DIDNT have ANY makeup on!) I have very fair and a bit freckly skin. This product has evened out my skin tone throughout my face and has almost erased any dark circles I used to have under my eyes! I used to wear foundation every day to work, but now after using this product I just dab on a tiny bit of loose powder and some blush and my skin looks so beautiful. I can sincerely say that this product has improved my skin. It does make my skin just a teeny bit dry after washing, but I just spray a bit of rose water or makeup mist on my face and that issue is gone. I highly recommend this product.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareDec 9, 2014
Hi jllowery7. Thank you for taking the time to review our product. We would love to speak with you to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our care specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EST. We look forward to your call.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Not bad but not for me!

PostedDec 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Woodbury, NJ
Age:45-54
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily
I like the whole natural idea. Smells great, makes my face feel clean but after a week broke out everywhere. Gave it another week but breakout became worse.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NeutrogenaConsumer CareDec 8, 2014
Thank you for your review, Legal645. Because your experience is not typical with our product, we would like to learn a little more about it. If you could, please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 Monday- Friday 8am-8pm EST. Thanks and enjoy your day!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

So much for "naturals"

PostedNov 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from roanoke,va
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?5
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
My skin broke out so badly after using this for a couple of weeks. At first I didn't think this cleanser could be reason why I was breaking out until I stopped using it for a couple of days and I notice a big difference. Now I know to avoid all products from this line.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareNov 25, 2014
We are sorry that our cleanser made you break out. This is not what we would expect of our product and we want to learn more. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048, we're open Monday through Friday, 8 AM-8 PM EST. The care specialist that you speak with will be happy to help you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Not bad

PostedNov 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Cinisi, ITALIA
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?2
How long have you been using this product?3 to 6 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I bought this product this summer in the US (I'm italian). Basically, it's not a bad product but it's not the perfect one for my skin. When I bought it, I started to use it everyday, but my skin became dry on the cheeks area and little pimples appeared all over my face, so I stopped using it. I tried again after couple weeks, same story.. But I learned the lesson.. Now I use it once or twice a week, my skin is smooth and soft.. so, for my skintype it's not a everyday cleanser, but, as I said before, not bad ;) (Sorry for my english!)
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer Care CenterNov 24, 2014
We are very sorry to hear about your experience with our product, shakerqueen. This is not typical and we would like to learn more about what happened. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday-Friday 8AM-8PM EST.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Happily Surprised

PostedNov 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Redwood City, CA
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?2
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I was staying at a friend's house and forgot my face wash when she offered for me to use this. It was great! I feel clean and refreshed without leftover residue and I LOVE that it was not tested on animals. No one has made that comment yet and I feel that is very important. Free of harsh chemicals is great too but you don't know how hard it is to find a beauty cleanser that states it doesn't test, this product, on animals. I am going out to get my own bottle ASAP
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Not too bad

PostedNov 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
I have tried millions of face products. I like the smell of this product. I think it does its job. The thing is, I paid $15 for a really small bottle and I could not keep using a product that expensive in a regular base. Once used for the first time, I feel clean and fresh which is great.
It feels natural and I normally think Neutrogena is one of the best brands out there.
I would do a better size (much bigger) and change the prize.
It is not a bad product after all.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

I have my skin back!

PostedNov 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Upstate NY
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I'm 22 years old and have been battling adult acne for the past year or so. My skin is sensitive, but I have an oily T zone, and dry/sensitive cheeks. I developed tiny, subdermal bumps all over my face. They were EVERYWHERE. I was so embarrassed by my skin that it actually began to affect my life. Well, I decided to try this product and I have never been happier! My skin looks so amazing!! This cleanser is perfect; it is tough enough to blast through my makeup and oily t-zone, yet sensitive enough that my face doesn't feel dry or irritated after use. After the first few washes, I did experience a little breakout, but that is completely normal when changing acne washes. Bottom line, I'm a Neutrogena Naturals girl for life!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareNov 4, 2014
Hi there. We would love to speak with you to learn more about your experience with our product. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our care specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EST. We look forward to speaking with you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Too much fragrance

PostedOct 31, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from atlanta, ga
Age:45-54
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Especially for being a "natural" product, this cleanser has too much fragrance. A scent is left behind on my skin after using, which I do not like.
Please remove the fragrance from this product.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

LOVE LOVE LOVE

PostedOct 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
My skin feels so fresh and clean after using this product, it doesn't burn my face and it has a mild fresh smell to it.. nothing strong! It's natural so it works for a natural clean look!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

HATE this. Burned my face.

PostedOct 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?4
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
I dont typically go out of my way to write reviews but as this is the second Neutrogena product that has burned my skin I felt compelled. I was able to use this about half way through the bottle when it suddenly started burning the corners of my nose and my chin. I immedately washed it off and was left with red patches around these areas and sore, irritated feeling. The last time this happened to me was with their pink grapefruit line (which I also do not recommend) and it took a couple days for my skin to calm down.
I dont think myself to have very sensitive skin but their facial cleansing products have just unleashed havok on my skin. I was mislead by the "naturals" claim. Something in this is still too harsh and Im willing to bet its the willowbark.
Not gentle and to me personally not worth it. Save your money.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareOct 27, 2014
We are sorry that you had this experience with our product. This is not typical and we want to learn more about what happened. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048, we're open Monday through Friday, 8 AM-8 PM EDT. The care specialist that you speak with will be happy to help you. Have a great day.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Not good for sensitive skin

PostedOct 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from San Francisco, CA
Age:18-24
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Dry
Quality 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I so wanted to enjoy this product because it was advertised as having all-natural ingredients and no harsh chemicals, but sadly it fell short of my expectations. The first few washes left my skin feeling nice and smooth but into my second week of using it, I started to get dry and burning sensations on different spots on my face. I started using it every other day and even then it didn't feel any better. This facial wash might be great on regular skin but if you have sensitive skin like I do, I wouldn't recommend using the product.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareOct 21, 2014
Hi maryT and thank you for taking the time to review one of our Neutrogena® products. We're sorry to hear that you experienced a skin reaction, that is not typical of our products and we'd like to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 8am-8pm EDT Monday through Friday. We look forward to speaking with you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

Love the way this product makes my skin look/feel

PostedOct 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I wish I would have taken a before and after picture from when I first started using this product. I had some significant break outs when I started using it and the next day the break outs were smaller in size and the redness was reduced. With continued use of this facial cleanser the break outs got smaller, less red, and less noticeable. They also stopped hurting so badly as well. I've been using the NN product line for about 2 months now and I absolutely love it.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareOct 7, 2014
Hi AprilH803. Thanks for taking the time to review our product. We would like to speak with you directly to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our care specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EDT. We look forward to speaking with you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Facial Cleanser

This Stuff Works!

PostedSep 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from DMV
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?5
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I remember that I had this pimple on my face awhile the rest of my skin was clear and the morning I woke up after the night I washed my face with this stuff, the pimple not only reduced in redness but it shrunk in swelling and size! I was so amazed! I lie TO YOU NOT!! Who else gets results like this ON THE FIRST TRY? This was the very first Neutrogena Naturals product I used and I am in love with the collection! It works well with the other NN products I use and with my makeup! It's a knockout.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>