Customer reviews for neutrogena.com On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

neutrogena.com On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment is a spot acne treatment that provides maximum-strength results without drying out your face. It goes deep down in pores to kill the acne bacteria that cause pimples and helps stop new ones from forming. Some medicated spot treatments contain high doses of Benzoyl Peroxide that can irritate skin, causing redness and dryness that can make acne worse. On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment contains just 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide, yet it provides the same maximum level of effectiveness with 70% less irritation. Fight acne and get maximum-strength results with an acne spot treatment that won't dry out your face. Oil-free Non-comedogenic (won't clog pores) 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide
Overall rating:
3.641 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(106 reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary 106 reviews
5 stars
45
4 stars
22
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 star
17
77 out of 10375%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment
Review 21 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Disappointing product

PostedAug 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I do not have an acne problem, but occasionally, pimples will appear on my face. I decided to give this treatment a try because my pimples were not going away after around 1-2 weeks, even after I used the typical products that work for me. Unfortunately after using this product, my pimples and the area around them became more red, swollen and sore.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareAug 24, 2014
We are so sorry that your acne worsened after using this product. That is not typical and we would like to learn more. If you could please call us at 1-800-582-4048, we're open Monday through Friday, 8 AM-8 PM EDT. We hope to hear from you soon.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Dries Out

PostedSep 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
This is a great deal! However you have to use the tiniest amount only on your pimples otherwise it will dry out the skin around it and look HORRIBLE under concealer. Also I use a light moisturizer afterwards.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

THE BEST PRODUCT I HAVE EVER USED!

PostedJul 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
Age:13-17
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I used to have quite a lot of pimples on my face. I tried this product and it initially got my skin dry, but my skin got accustomed to it after a few days. I kept using it and all my pimples disappeared. I have used this for three years now and it is the best product I have ever encountered. If I forget to apply this on my face, I will have pimples all over my face the next day. Still, I wish that it was just cheaper.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

REALLY # ONE PRODUCT!

PostedMay 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Weehawken, NJ
Age:13-17
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I really love this product, I really cant live without it. This is the only thing that works for me. Everyone always tells me that my skin is baby butt-cheeks soft. I love it so much that I have to squeeze the bottle tight to get some out. THIS WAS AND IS MY COMPLETE LIFESAVER!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Love it

PostedSep 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Los Angeles,CA
Age:13-17
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
It clears my acne overnight! I have super oily skin and nothing worked for me until I got this product! Even my friends said my skin looked clearer and less red! Without this I would be a pimple monster.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Its alright.

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Wisconsin
Age:13-17
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Ive been using this for awhile. It dries out your face very quickly. It leaves so many acne marks! Im going to try getting the spot gel becauseit helps fade marks. This smells weird and leaves a sort of white coating on your face when it dries.It works well if you really want a zit to shrink before the next day if you keep applying it and letting it dry on the certain zit.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Wish it Still came in Tinted

PostedJan 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Oklahoma
Age:25-34
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I quit using this product a few years ago when they quit making the tinted version....ever since I have battled my skin breaking out. I went back to using this vanishing cream about two months ago and my skin is 99% clear all the time now. It would be nice if they would start selling the tinted version again, bc with it I didn't even have to wear a foundation which I felt helped keep my skin from breaking out. I did try the Neutrogena clear complextion foundation but my skin still breaks out with it...have to use a different brand which I'm sure this website would not like me to name!!! Anyhow...this is a great product especially for bumpy whitehead type acne.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Not for that BIG pimple!

PostedOct 10, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Laguna Beach, CA
I loved this product very much, however I had a HUGE pimple on my forehead, but it didn't really go away too much until the third day. It did though, clear all those little pimples very quick overnight. This is a very good product, and it does what it says it will do: clear the pimple without overdrying your skin. :)
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

It made my skin itchy n irritated!

PostedDec 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Pakistan, karachi
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?2
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I have been using neutrogena products since years n im very much satisfied with their results, but this is the first product which i dont like coz when i applied on my acne the skin around my acne became so iritated, red n itchy. This might be due to benzoyl peroxide sensitivity..
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Reduced acne but left skin bad

PostedJul 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Houston, TX
Age:13-17
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I started using this for about a week everyday before I went to sleep. I noticed that my acne started to get smaller and had less. But when I applied it the last day I used it I felt like my skin was burning I thought it was probably the product working. But when I woke up the next day my skin had red patches where I had applied the product I also felt like my skin was very tight and it seemed like I was starting to peel. When I saw that my mom told me to stop using it so I did now it has been about two days since I haven't used it and my skins red patches, tightness, dryness and peeling has gone down. I still recommend it but be aware because it also left me dark spots (acne scars) where I used to have my acne.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Works well on acne but skin has become rough.

PostedAug 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from San Diego, CA
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?1
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
I had just one application of the cream on the cheeks where there is some acne. The skin lost its luster and is not soft as ever. I stopped using the cream immediately but the effect is still there.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareAug 23, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you had this experience. That is not typical and we would like to learn more. If you could please call us at 1-800-582-4048, we're open Monday through Friday, 8 AM-8 PM EDT. We hope to hear from you soon.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Gets rid of cystic acne!

PostedJun 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Austin, TX
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?2
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I typically use this when I feel cystic acne coming on and though it's not the strongest product I've used (those are always prescription) it's very strong for the price. I find that if I leave my pimples alone (which is half the battle) the cystic acne will take care of itself and go away in a few days instead of a week. Sure, I'd like them to go away faster - like in an hour - but this does a pretty fine job of getting rid of my painful pimples before I can pick at them and make the pores any bigger than they already are. Like all acne products that are spot treatments, this is very drying. I have combination skin, but it can take a lot so I have no problem just loading this stuff on a whole area of my face for days. I get dry skin, but I also use a lot of moisturizer and see acne as a battle that I'm willing to make sacrifices for. You cannot buy this product and be surprised if it dries out your skin. You just can't. That's the only way to treat acne with spot treatment. Other products that are more gentle take a lot longer. Spot treatment is used to take down one pimple and this product works GREAT. If you're worried about dry skin, just make the application minimal and load on the moisturizer - in the morning and a HEAVY cream at night. Problem solved. But if you want to get rid of a bad cystic acne, this is a great product for the price.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NEUTROGENA®Consumer CareJun 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We always love to hear how our consumers are using our products. We would like to speak with you directly to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EDT. We look forward to speaking with you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Works Well!

PostedOct 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Mpls,MN
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
This stuff works pretty good with my stubborn acne! Works best with Clear Pore Cleasner/Mask. Most of my acne is cleared up within a week .
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Great Product

PostedAug 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Washington D.C.
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
The great thing about this product is that your skin never builds immunity to it because it consists of benzoyl peroxide. This ingredient stimulates oxygen in your skin which successfully kills acne. I love this product, though it doesn't prevent breakouts and give you perfect skin, it does wonders for those pimples you already have and ones you see are about to surface.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

My acne has been clearing up!

PostedMar 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Springfield, PA
Age:13-17
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I use this product twice a day, and although it leaves some areas of my face a bit dry, it DOES clear up my acne. For me, it works a bit slow, but it does work. For the dry areas, I use a face moisturizer, and it seems to re-hydrate those parts.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

My pimples are finally almost gone!

PostedSep 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Randolph, NJ
Age:13-17
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
A couple of days ago, i was extremely upset to find two pretty big pimples on my face. I went out and bought this treatment right away and picked up the oil free acne wash daily scrub while i was there. I have been using the scrub and spot treatment for two days and i am already seeing results! My pimples are much smaller and practically gone. Im sure theyll be invisible in 1-2 days. I have oily skin so i havent had any drying out skin problems. I also used ice to freeze my pimples since they werent whiteheads instead of a hot compress then applied this product. I am very happy with what im seeing!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

The only thing that works for me

PostedSep 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Omaha, NE
Age:35-49
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Honestly, this is the only thing that works to keep my skin clear. I use it at night after I wash my face with your fresh foaming cleanser. Yes, it is benzoyl peroxide, so it will bleach if you aren’t careful. I sleep with an old white t-shirt over my pillow case so that’s not any problem for me. Well worth the fabulous results it delivers. I love that it’s only 2.5% vs. a higher amount as my skin is very sensitive.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Best product ever!!

PostedAug 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Miami, FL
Age:13-17
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I've been using this product for the past 3 year, and it has made my skin look wonderful!! :)
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Great Product!

PostedMay 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Richmond, VA
Age:13-17
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I have been using this product for awhile now along with the Neutrogena Wave and it has worked wonderfuly for me! I put it on and it noticable reduces the size of pimples and onnce I wash my face the pimples are usually gone! Alothough I have noticed if I stop using the product then my acne comes back. But as long as you are comminted to washing your face at morning and night and appling this afterword at night it should work very well for you. I know it has for me!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

EXCELLENT !

PostedNov 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from sac, cA
Age:13-17
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I remember the first time I bought this & used it. What I reccommend you do to remove your pimples easily, you need to put a lot of it on top of your pimple ! After I did that, my pimples were barely there . It really works (:
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>