Customer reviews for neutrogena.com On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

neutrogena.com On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment is a spot acne treatment that provides maximum-strength results without drying out your face. It goes deep down in pores to kill the acne bacteria that cause pimples and helps stop new ones from forming. Some medicated spot treatments contain high doses of Benzoyl Peroxide that can irritate skin, causing redness and dryness that can make acne worse. On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment contains just 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide, yet it provides the same maximum level of effectiveness with 70% less irritation. Fight acne and get maximum-strength results with an acne spot treatment that won't dry out your face. Oil-free Non-comedogenic (won't clog pores) 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide
Overall rating:
3.639 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(119 reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary 119 reviews
5 stars
52
4 stars
23
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 star
20
86 out of 11674%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment
Review 21 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Reduced acne but left skin bad

PostedJul 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Houston, TX
Age:13-17
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I started using this for about a week everyday before I went to sleep. I noticed that my acne started to get smaller and had less. But when I applied it the last day I used it I felt like my skin was burning I thought it was probably the product working. But when I woke up the next day my skin had red patches where I had applied the product I also felt like my skin was very tight and it seemed like I was starting to peel. When I saw that my mom told me to stop using it so I did now it has been about two days since I haven't used it and my skins red patches, tightness, dryness and peeling has gone down. I still recommend it but be aware because it also left me dark spots (acne scars) where I used to have my acne.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Skin is super dry and itchy

PostedFeb 11, 2016
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Iowa
Age:18-24
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
I used this product once a day for 3 days. After the third day my chin and around my mouth became VERY dry, itchy and flaky. I have stopped using this product for 10 days and I'm still trying to get my skin back to not being flaky and dry. My skin was never that bad to begin with and is now worse after using this product.
It worked well, but be aware of the side effects.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NEUTROGENAConsumer ServiceFeb 11, 2016
Thank you for reaching out to us, Brmca12. We're so sorry to hear about the reaction you're having to this product. Since this is not typical, we would like to learn more from you. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048 from 9AM to 7PM EST Monday-Friday. We look forward to your call.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Dries Out

PostedSep 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
How long have you been using this product?3 to 4 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
This is a great deal! However you have to use the tiniest amount only on your pimples otherwise it will dry out the skin around it and look HORRIBLE under concealer. Also I use a light moisturizer afterwards.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

THE BEST PRODUCT I HAVE EVER USED!

PostedJul 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
Age:13-17
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I used to have quite a lot of pimples on my face. I tried this product and it initially got my skin dry, but my skin got accustomed to it after a few days. I kept using it and all my pimples disappeared. I have used this for three years now and it is the best product I have ever encountered. If I forget to apply this on my face, I will have pimples all over my face the next day. Still, I wish that it was just cheaper.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

REALLY # ONE PRODUCT!

PostedMay 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Weehawken, NJ
Age:13-17
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I really love this product, I really cant live without it. This is the only thing that works for me. Everyone always tells me that my skin is baby butt-cheeks soft. I love it so much that I have to squeeze the bottle tight to get some out. THIS WAS AND IS MY COMPLETE LIFESAVER!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Love it..........

PostedApr 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Gainesville, GA
Age:45-54
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?2
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I have been using this product for 4 years. I have monthly break out. This gets it gone within one day.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

clear right in time for pictures

PostedFeb 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Thibodaux, LA
Age:18-24
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I'm a high school senior who never had acne trouble in high school, until the week of my senior pictures. I had pimples all over my forhead and chin. I bought the on the spot acne treatment, and it completely cleared my skin. I noticed an immediate difference the day after I first tried it. I only had to use it at night before I went to bed, and it was very gentle for my sensitive skin. Thank you so much neutrogena!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

GREAT product for acne!

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Westminster, CA
This product is and does what is said on the box. Very gentle, easy to apply, does not dry the skin and kills acnes in a super fast period. Actually, some other acne products from NEUTROGENA work well too.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Gets rid of cystic acne!

PostedJun 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Austin, TX
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?2
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I typically use this when I feel cystic acne coming on and though it's not the strongest product I've used (those are always prescription) it's very strong for the price. I find that if I leave my pimples alone (which is half the battle) the cystic acne will take care of itself and go away in a few days instead of a week. Sure, I'd like them to go away faster - like in an hour - but this does a pretty fine job of getting rid of my painful pimples before I can pick at them and make the pores any bigger than they already are. Like all acne products that are spot treatments, this is very drying. I have combination skin, but it can take a lot so I have no problem just loading this stuff on a whole area of my face for days. I get dry skin, but I also use a lot of moisturizer and see acne as a battle that I'm willing to make sacrifices for. You cannot buy this product and be surprised if it dries out your skin. You just can't. That's the only way to treat acne with spot treatment. Other products that are more gentle take a lot longer. Spot treatment is used to take down one pimple and this product works GREAT. If you're worried about dry skin, just make the application minimal and load on the moisturizer - in the morning and a HEAVY cream at night. Problem solved. But if you want to get rid of a bad cystic acne, this is a great product for the price.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy NEUTROGENA®Consumer CareJun 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We always love to hear how our consumers are using our products. We would like to speak with you directly to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EDT. We look forward to speaking with you.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Works Well!

PostedOct 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Mpls,MN
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
This stuff works pretty good with my stubborn acne! Works best with Clear Pore Cleasner/Mask. Most of my acne is cleared up within a week .
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Great Product

PostedAug 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Washington D.C.
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
The great thing about this product is that your skin never builds immunity to it because it consists of benzoyl peroxide. This ingredient stimulates oxygen in your skin which successfully kills acne. I love this product, though it doesn't prevent breakouts and give you perfect skin, it does wonders for those pimples you already have and ones you see are about to surface.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Love it

PostedSep 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Los Angeles,CA
Age:13-17
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
It clears my acne overnight! I have super oily skin and nothing worked for me until I got this product! Even my friends said my skin looked clearer and less red! Without this I would be a pimple monster.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Its alright.

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Wisconsin
Age:13-17
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Ive been using this for awhile. It dries out your face very quickly. It leaves so many acne marks! Im going to try getting the spot gel becauseit helps fade marks. This smells weird and leaves a sort of white coating on your face when it dries.It works well if you really want a zit to shrink before the next day if you keep applying it and letting it dry on the certain zit.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Wish it Still came in Tinted

PostedJan 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Oklahoma
Age:25-34
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I quit using this product a few years ago when they quit making the tinted version....ever since I have battled my skin breaking out. I went back to using this vanishing cream about two months ago and my skin is 99% clear all the time now. It would be nice if they would start selling the tinted version again, bc with it I didn't even have to wear a foundation which I felt helped keep my skin from breaking out. I did try the Neutrogena clear complextion foundation but my skin still breaks out with it...have to use a different brand which I'm sure this website would not like me to name!!! Anyhow...this is a great product especially for bumpy whitehead type acne.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Not for that BIG pimple!

PostedOct 10, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Laguna Beach, CA
I loved this product very much, however I had a HUGE pimple on my forehead, but it didn't really go away too much until the third day. It did though, clear all those little pimples very quick overnight. This is a very good product, and it does what it says it will do: clear the pimple without overdrying your skin. :)
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

It made my skin itchy n irritated!

PostedDec 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Pakistan, karachi
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?2
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
I have been using neutrogena products since years n im very much satisfied with their results, but this is the first product which i dont like coz when i applied on my acne the skin around my acne became so iritated, red n itchy. This might be due to benzoyl peroxide sensitivity..
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Disappointed

PostedNov 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from MD
Age:13-17
Quality 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Value 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
This was one of the first spot treatments I bought for my mild acne (blackheads and whiteheads as a result of puberty, sigh). It didn't do anything for my acne, so I moved on to other products. A few months later, I decided to give it another try. It was the only change in my routine, and a few days later, my face became irritated, rough, and itchy. I stopped using immediately and now my face is ok again...but still acne-prone. A waste of money and a disappointing product...do not purchase.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer ServiceNov 30, 2014
We're sorry to hear our product hasn't worked well for you. Your experience isn't typical, and we'd like to learn more about your routine. Could you please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048, M-F 8a-8p so we can talk? We look forward to hearing from you!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

It works great

PostedAug 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I have been using this product for years and it works great. Slather it on every day if you need to. I had to put a lot on for the first year to really knock out the acne bacteria. Buy it foo!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

My skin is clearing up!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Port Arthur, TX
Age:45-54
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?2
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I started using this product two week ago and its has done wonder on my face..I love it. Thanks Neutrogena.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for On-the-Spot® Acne Treatment

Great product!

PostedSep 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Ohio
Age:13-17
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?3
How long have you been using this product?3 to 6 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I had one HUGE pimple under my nose and this completely cleared it up in less than two days! This is the only spot treatment that really works on my skin. Thanks Neutrogena!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>