Customer reviews for neutrogena.com Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

neutrogena.com Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation is the first purified mineral makeup in a compact. Neutrogena Mineral Sheers® Compact Powder Foundation enhances your skin through dermatologist-selected pure and gentle minerals. This convenient pressed powder foundation creates a naturally radiant and glowing complexion. Featuring exclusive time-released antioxidants, Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation formula delivers extra soft and blendable pressed minerals, so you can build your desired coverage from sheer to medium without a heavy makeup look or feel. And, it's great for mess-free, easy touch-ups. Oil-free Non-comedogenic (won't clog pores) Fragrance-free Dermatologist developed
Overall rating:
4.185 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(103 reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary 103 reviews
5 stars
57
4 stars
23
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
4
83 out of 9885%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation
Review 1 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Want SPF back

PostedJul 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Fort myers, FL
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Why was the SPF removed from this product? I absolutely loved the mineral sheers powder foundation when it had SPF. I live in a state with a lot of sun and find this to protect my skin. Please bring the SPF back !!!!!!!!
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Excellent until SPF removed

PostedJun 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from South Carolina
Age:45-54
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
I've used this for powder nearly 10 years and LOVE IT. When I saw it was changed to remove the SPF, I bought all the items I could find. Now I've run out. Sadly I'm struggling with sunburn this summer as the moisturizer with SPF just isn't enough. The extra and GENTLE SPF in this powder was perfect for my fair (Nude 40## skin. I'm a loyal Neutrogena cosmetics customer...I use your blush, mascara #even after you discontinued my favorite mascara a few yrs ago), eye shadow, moisturizers & face cleanser! I'd buy more Neutrogena if you had more since it's gentle on my sensitive fair skin. This change has really caused me to pause about what I'm using. Why did it change? And what replacement powder do you offer? PLEASE HELP!!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

I DON'T want SPF

PostedMar 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Huntington Station
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?5
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Normal
Skin Tone:Medium
I chose this product because it does NOT have SPF.
I prefer not to have SPF in all of my cosmetics. The additional chemicals absorbing into my skin all day every day is not necessary and not healthy. If you will be out in the sun for extended periods of time, use a separate sunscreen. SPF is not needed in the office all day.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Need more colors

PostedFeb 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from new york ny
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily
Skin Tone:Deep
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
I love the coverage but because i am african american as soon as the sun hits me i wont be able to wear it bcs they dont have any dark shades. If your skin is not light you cant really wear the make up. I really think they need to appeal to a larger crowd.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Softtest and finest mineral powder!

PostedJan 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Riverside, CA
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?6
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily
Skin Tone:Medium
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
This compact is great for people with oily skin.
If you have dry patches, this will exaggerate them, so make sure to exfoliate and moisturize well.
I am on my third compact ( unfortunately, Neutrogena has poor shipping packages; the powder arrived shattered :()
In comparison to the mineral sheers loose powder, this compact version gives a true matte finish. Also, I find that Nude 40 in the loose powder form is a bit orange toned, but in compact form, the color is a more natural warm/neutral shade.
The powder is silky and soft!
The sponge traps a lot of the product and is useless. Neutrogena, feel free to leave out the sponge compartment from here on out.
I have oily skin and on bad days , my face is an oil mine.
If your skin is in a similar situation, then feel free to get a shade that may seem a tiny bit too light. As the product settles onto your face, the oil will naturally interact with the powder and cause to turn into a slightly deeper shade.
I apply gel moisturizer to my face in the morning- I steer clear of any cream products. On my bad days, this foundation keeps me shine free for 4 hours, on my ok days, 6 hours.
This powder will transfer, for example when blowing your nose, but i don't use primer/liquid foundation. I can blot over with soft patting motions and the product won't transfer onto the blotting sheets.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

#10 & #20

PostedNov 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from FL
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Dry
Skin Tone:Fair
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Gentle on skin. Med/Full Cover. Non Irritating. Not so many chemicals. I would like for product to have a cremy formula and be paraben free and have a dewy finish. Also Fill in small lines and have more vitamins
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

please respond to our spf complaints

PostedNov 22, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Asheville NC
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Skin Tone:Fair
Loved this makeup when it had spf!! Please consider putting the spf back in to make it the perfect makeup!! And it would be nice if someone would respond back to all the reviews requesting spf to be put back in the makeup. Skin cancer is a big concern these days and everyone is trying to avoid the sun so I guess we don't understand why you would take the sunscreen out now.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
+18points
20of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Please add SPF 20 back!

PostedOct 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Springville, AL
Age:45-54
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Skin Tone:Light
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I love this product! However, I am terribly disappointed you removed the SPF 20. I have had several pre-cancerous places removed from my face and relied on the SPF in this to provide my daily sun protection.
Other than that, it covers flawlessly, reduces shine, and makes my skin look great!
SPF, SPF, SPF.....WE WANT YOU BACK!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Really LOVE this foundation.

PostedOct 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from NC
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily
Skin Tone:Fair
I totally love this foundation. I have the t-zone oily skin. I've tried lots of other products that created an oily mask on my face but this one hasn't done that so far. I've seen a couple other reviews that said this foundation kind of wears off after awhile, I think that's probably true but I actually love that about this makeup. If I have to choose between my makeup wearing off naturally from the oil in my skin or creating a yucky oily mask where the makeup looks caked and sticky, I'd rather it just wear off naturally. I think this makeup has lasted most of the day for me, though, and it actually seems to improve the skin. For those with oily skin, it's almost like it either neutralizes the oil or allows it to seep through and evaporate.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Bad color, but great product!

PostedSep 24, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Four Oaks, NC
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?6
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily
Skin Tone:Olive
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I have been using the mineral foundation for years. I typically wear the #60 but it's always been too light, I just fill with bronzer. For summer this year I went up to the 80. I couldn't find the "in between" color of 70 'honey beige' in stores anywhere...always out of stock. So I order the 70- honey beige. It's nothing in shade like the 60 and 80. It looses the brown undertone and is VERY yellow! I'm making it work, but just a word to the wise. It almost doesn't "fit" in this group of compact colors. I wish neutrogena made MORE shades. IT's hard to match sometimes. But I LOVE this product, just not the color...
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

SPF Removed

PostedSep 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Puerto Rico
Age:45-54
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?6
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Skin Tone:Olive
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I'm very disappointment because the SPF was removed from the powder. The color looks darker in my skin. Please, add the SPF again.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

LOVE IT! but does not contain SPF anymore :(

PostedAug 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Chicago
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?8
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily
Skin Tone:Medium
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I love this product but they got rid of SPF. If you read the drug facts, they got rid of the ingredient called Titanium Dioxide which is Sunscreen. I have no clue why they removed that element from this product. However, this product is the best so far! BRING BACK THE SUN SCREEN PLEASE!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Cover It Up Baby!

PostedAug 16, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Minnesota
Age:13-17
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?5
How long have you been using this product?3 to 6 MONTHS
Skin Type:Normal
Skin Tone:Medium
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I bought this product because the mircoclear technology powder foundation was out of stock at Target. So I just picked up the mineral sheers powder foundation instead. The only catch to this product is you have to pick the exact right color for your skin tone, or else it will look cakey. I would recommend the mircoclear technology blemish concealer from Neutrogena instead, because it's cheeper, and it covers blemishes up more. This was an OK product for me.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Best foundation I have ever used.

PostedJul 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Coumbiana, Ohio
Age:Over 65
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Normal
Skin Tone:Medium
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I am 70 years young and I've been told I look like I'm 50. I get compliments on my complexion every day. I used to use the foundations from the big department stores and pay anywhere from $35.00 to $45.00 until about 6 or 7 years ago, I tried the Neutrogena mineral sheers powder foundation, #60 and I will never use anything else again. It covers beautifully and hides the few fine lines I have. I have a light vein on the side of my nose and it even covers that. I apply a light touch of blush all over my face, lipstick, and eye make up and I'm good to go. The result is a nice soft glow, and I thank you for that, Neutrogena!!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Mineral makeup has natural spf!

PostedJul 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Newport, OR
Age:45-54
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Skin Tone:Light
Most of us use mineral makeup because we have sensitive skin. Mineral makeup is a natural SPF and adding additional may cause unnecessary irritation. Please, do not add SPF!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

It does contain SPF!!!

PostedJul 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Napa, California
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?3
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Skin Tone:Olive
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
First of all, I just want to say that this powder does contain SPF. If you look in the back, it does say Titanium Dioxide 6.6% which is sunscreen. Secondly, this powder is amazing. my skin often has a mind of its own and this powder is amazing in that it blends into the skin instead of sitting on top of it. It makes my skin look better and its healthy! Cant ask for anything better than that.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Took out the spf

PostedJun 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Fanwood, nj
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Skin Tone:Fair
This is the only foundation, including those from the dept. store & the drug store, that actually stays matte all day while hiding wrinkles & pores. Nothing else compares & I've tried them all. Unfortunately, my melasma reappeared because neutrogena took out the spf and I never thought to continue looking at the package to see if it was missing. So now this product is useless to me. I need a physical block in my makeup to wear over a chemical block because no one really takes off his or her makeup every two hours to reapply their chemical block. So thanks neutrogena. Now I am stuck in the summer with no spf in my makeup, melasma, & a two year old, who doesn't want to shop for a replacement.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

What happened to SPF???

PostedJun 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Wheelersburg, oh
Age:55-64
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?5
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Normal
Skin Tone:Medium
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I loved this product because I didn't have to glop on greasy sunscreen before motorcycle riding. Why was it removed??? I am now using another manufacturer's product with sunscreen
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

The best powder in the market

PostedJun 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Dallas
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily
Skin Tone:Medium
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Thank you ,,thank you Neutrogena for finally removing the SPF from this product . The product know wears cleaner most stable ... Beautifill long lasting look... Love it.....!!!!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Get Thiss !

PostedJun 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from North Carolina
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily
Skin Tone:Olive
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I have very sensitive skin & this still worked for me. I'm Hispanic so i was very happy when i found the right color that didn't make me look orange. I buy this product all the time and I recommend it !
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>