Customer reviews for neutrogena.com Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

neutrogena.com Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation is the first purified mineral makeup in a compact. Neutrogena Mineral Sheers® Compact Powder Foundation enhances your skin through dermatologist-selected pure and gentle minerals. This convenient pressed powder foundation creates a naturally radiant and glowing complexion. Featuring exclusive time-released antioxidants, Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation formula delivers extra soft and blendable pressed minerals, so you can build your desired coverage from sheer to medium without a heavy makeup look or feel. And, it's great for mess-free, easy touch-ups. Oil-free Non-comedogenic (won't clog pores) Fragrance-free Dermatologist developed
Overall rating:
4.218 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(110 reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary 110 reviews
5 stars
62
4 stars
25
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
4
90 out of 10586%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation
Review 1 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

I have been using this for years!!

PostedDec 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I'm 25 and I have been using this for as long as I can remember. I have really sensitive skin and this has never broken me out. I do use high end skin care products but I will always use this as my every day foundation. You can have light to buildable coverage with this foundation. The color is amazing and the price is right! I hope this never discontinues. People always ask what foundation I use and they are surprised. I will say this though: you can use the cheapest make up or most high end make-up but a flawless make-up application always starts with good skin.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Creates a perfect natural, matte look!

PostedNov 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from New York, New York
Age:55-64
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Normal
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
For years I have looked for a product like this one! I am so thrilled to have found Mineral Sheers. I use it like a compact powder and apply it just the same. It covers ALL flaws amazingly well. I have a couple of dark spots and it literally made them disappear. This stuff is fantastic. It stays put and lasts all day long. Great finish, soft, matte look. All natural. What a product. You can't go wrong.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareNov 4, 2014
Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to review our product. We would like to speak with you to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our care specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EST. We look forward to speaking with you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

use this instead of sheer cover

PostedOct 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Georgetown, KY
Age:45-54
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 2 WEEKS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
good product, reasonably priced, works great for me
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Excellent product!

PostedOct 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from New York, NY
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?5
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I never write reviews but for this wonderful product I had to make an exception - that's how much I am scared that Neutrogena ever decides to discontinue this gem.
This is the only product that works for my super oily sensitive skin! Not only this powder-foundation tames oiliness (for some time, again my skin is SUPER oily - not oily-combination, oily, even in winter) but also covers and calms down (!) any redness I might have on my sensitive skin all while looking super natural on my face. The lightest color - classic ivory - is perfect for my NW20 skin. I don't know how many times I repurchased this powder. So many times when I wore it people (friends but also women I don't know - at the drugstore or Starbucks) would tell me they loved my skin and asked what I was using. My chanel foundation got nothing, Neutrogena gets complimented all the time! I love this product. I hope it will never be discontinued. I don't know if it's any good for dry skin, but if you have oily and sensitive skin - give it a try!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
Response from NeutrogenaBy Neutrogena®Consumer CareOct 27, 2014
We are happy to hear that you love this product. You mentioned that this product calms down redness, which goes beyond what the product is supposed to do. We want to learn more and gather additional information. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048, we're open Monday through Friday, 8 AM-8 PM EDT. We hope to hear from you soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Happy with NO SPF

PostedSep 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Wake Forest, NC
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Normal
Thank you for taking the SPF out of Neutrogena Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation!!! It is very nice to find a make up with out SPF!! I don't feel that we need SPF everyday and I am happy that you have a makeup choice with out!!! Thanks!!! Happy Customer!!!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Perfect powder foundation

PostedAug 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from California
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
My skin is slightly oily, and I am always in a big hurry in the morning, so powder foundation is the quickest and most convenient way to apply makeup. I switched to Neutrogena's mineral powder foundation a while ago, and am very pleased with the quality and look of the product.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Good for Oily skin

PostedAug 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Melbourne, FL
Age:55-64
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?5
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Oily
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Like it. Would the people with oily skin/olive skin reveal the color they use. Would all people reveal the color they use. Would be helpful for all.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Want SPF back

PostedJul 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 of 5
1.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Fort myers, FL
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Why was the SPF removed from this product? I absolutely loved the mineral sheers powder foundation when it had SPF. I live in a state with a lot of sun and find this to protect my skin. Please bring the SPF back !!!!!!!!
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Excellent until SPF removed

PostedJun 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from South Carolina
Age:45-54
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
I've used this for powder nearly 10 years and LOVE IT. When I saw it was changed to remove the SPF, I bought all the items I could find. Now I've run out. Sadly I'm struggling with sunburn this summer as the moisturizer with SPF just isn't enough. The extra and GENTLE SPF in this powder was perfect for my fair (Nude 40## skin. I'm a loyal Neutrogena cosmetics customer...I use your blush, mascara #even after you discontinued my favorite mascara a few yrs ago), eye shadow, moisturizers & face cleanser! I'd buy more Neutrogena if you had more since it's gentle on my sensitive fair skin. This change has really caused me to pause about what I'm using. Why did it change? And what replacement powder do you offer? PLEASE HELP!!!!!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

I DON'T want SPF

PostedMar 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Huntington Station
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?5
How long have you been using this product?Less than 1 WEEK
Skin Type:Normal
Skin Tone:Medium
I chose this product because it does NOT have SPF.
I prefer not to have SPF in all of my cosmetics. The additional chemicals absorbing into my skin all day every day is not necessary and not healthy. If you will be out in the sun for extended periods of time, use a separate sunscreen. SPF is not needed in the office all day.
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Need more colors

PostedFeb 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from new york ny
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 MONTHS
Skin Type:Oily
Skin Tone:Deep
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
I love the coverage but because i am african american as soon as the sun hits me i wont be able to wear it bcs they dont have any dark shades. If your skin is not light you cant really wear the make up. I really think they need to appeal to a larger crowd.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Softtest and finest mineral powder!

PostedJan 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Riverside, CA
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?6
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily
Skin Tone:Medium
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
This compact is great for people with oily skin.
If you have dry patches, this will exaggerate them, so make sure to exfoliate and moisturize well.
I am on my third compact ( unfortunately, Neutrogena has poor shipping packages; the powder arrived shattered :()
In comparison to the mineral sheers loose powder, this compact version gives a true matte finish. Also, I find that Nude 40 in the loose powder form is a bit orange toned, but in compact form, the color is a more natural warm/neutral shade.
The powder is silky and soft!
The sponge traps a lot of the product and is useless. Neutrogena, feel free to leave out the sponge compartment from here on out.
I have oily skin and on bad days , my face is an oil mine.
If your skin is in a similar situation, then feel free to get a shade that may seem a tiny bit too light. As the product settles onto your face, the oil will naturally interact with the powder and cause to turn into a slightly deeper shade.
I apply gel moisturizer to my face in the morning- I steer clear of any cream products. On my bad days, this foundation keeps me shine free for 4 hours, on my ok days, 6 hours.
This powder will transfer, for example when blowing your nose, but i don't use primer/liquid foundation. I can blot over with soft patting motions and the product won't transfer onto the blotting sheets.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

#10 & #20

PostedNov 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from FL
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?More than 8
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Dry
Skin Tone:Fair
Quality 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Gentle on skin. Med/Full Cover. Non Irritating. Not so many chemicals. I would like for product to have a cremy formula and be paraben free and have a dewy finish. Also Fill in small lines and have more vitamins
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

please respond to our spf complaints

PostedNov 22, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Asheville NC
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Skin Tone:Fair
Loved this makeup when it had spf!! Please consider putting the spf back in to make it the perfect makeup!! And it would be nice if someone would respond back to all the reviews requesting spf to be put back in the makeup. Skin cancer is a big concern these days and everyone is trying to avoid the sun so I guess we don't understand why you would take the sunscreen out now.
Bottom LineNo, I do not recommend this product.
+19points
21of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Please add SPF 20 back!

PostedOct 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Springville, AL
Age:45-54
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Skin Tone:Light
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I love this product! However, I am terribly disappointed you removed the SPF 20. I have had several pre-cancerous places removed from my face and relied on the SPF in this to provide my daily sun protection.
Other than that, it covers flawlessly, reduces shine, and makes my skin look great!
SPF, SPF, SPF.....WE WANT YOU BACK!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Really LOVE this foundation.

PostedOct 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from NC
Age:35-44
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?7
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily
Skin Tone:Fair
I totally love this foundation. I have the t-zone oily skin. I've tried lots of other products that created an oily mask on my face but this one hasn't done that so far. I've seen a couple other reviews that said this foundation kind of wears off after awhile, I think that's probably true but I actually love that about this makeup. If I have to choose between my makeup wearing off naturally from the oil in my skin or creating a yucky oily mask where the makeup looks caked and sticky, I'd rather it just wear off naturally. I think this makeup has lasted most of the day for me, though, and it actually seems to improve the skin. For those with oily skin, it's almost like it either neutralizes the oil or allows it to seep through and evaporate.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Bad color, but great product!

PostedSep 24, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 of 5
2.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Four Oaks, NC
Age:25-34
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?6
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily
Skin Tone:Olive
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
4.0 of 5
4.0 of 5
I have been using the mineral foundation for years. I typically wear the #60 but it's always been too light, I just fill with bronzer. For summer this year I went up to the 80. I couldn't find the "in between" color of 70 'honey beige' in stores anywhere...always out of stock. So I order the 70- honey beige. It's nothing in shade like the 60 and 80. It looses the brown undertone and is VERY yellow! I'm making it work, but just a word to the wise. It almost doesn't "fit" in this group of compact colors. I wish neutrogena made MORE shades. IT's hard to match sometimes. But I LOVE this product, just not the color...
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

SPF Removed

PostedSep 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Puerto Rico
Age:45-54
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?6
How long have you been using this product?1 to 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily/Dry
Skin Tone:Olive
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I'm very disappointment because the SPF was removed from the powder. The color looks darker in my skin. Please, add the SPF again.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

LOVE IT! but does not contain SPF anymore :(

PostedAug 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Chicago
Age:18-24
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?8
How long have you been using this product?More than 3 YEARS
Skin Type:Oily
Skin Tone:Medium
Quality 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
Value 
5.0 of 5
5.0 of 5
I love this product but they got rid of SPF. If you read the drug facts, they got rid of the ingredient called Titanium Dioxide which is Sunscreen. I have no clue why they removed that element from this product. However, this product is the best so far! BRING BACK THE SUN SCREEN PLEASE!
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Mineral Sheers Compact Powder Foundation

Cover It Up Baby!

PostedAug 16, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Customer avatar
from Minnesota
Age:13-17
How many times do you use this product during a typical week?5
How long have you been using this product?3 to 6 MONTHS
Skin Type:Normal
Skin Tone:Medium
Quality 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
Value 
3.0 of 5
3.0 of 5
I bought this product because the mircoclear technology powder foundation was out of stock at Target. So I just picked up the mineral sheers powder foundation instead. The only catch to this product is you have to pick the exact right color for your skin tone, or else it will look cakey. I would recommend the mircoclear technology blemish concealer from Neutrogena instead, because it's cheeper, and it covers blemishes up more. This was an OK product for me.
Bottom LineYes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>